Cary & Joe

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, South Africa, Tanzania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/01/2018 - 26/02/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Cary and Joe are an adventurous, friendly, hard working, and an engaging couple married 29 years who love to explore new places and things. We raised three thoughtful and conscientious sons and are excited about our new freedom to travel. Last winter we embarked on our first Workaway adventures in Thailand, Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia with stellar reviews and our glowing feedback. We have an Airbnb in Maine that brings us great joy, creativity, connection and purpose and love to volunteer in our community and beyond. We have hosted Workaway travelers and are very appreciative of the win/win of the program and constant magic we experience in just staying present. We consider life a journey not destination and that we can enhance others' travels as well as our own. Looking for the next opportunity to learn, grow and be.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Cary has a BA in English, a nursing degree (16 years experience) and certification in mediation, TESOL and holistic health modalities. We currently host a bustling Airbnb adventure on an island in Maine. Joe is certified in mediation and TESOL and has strong skills in mechanics, home maintenance and organizing people and projects. Joe is a bicycle mechanic and Cary has run cycling programs both road and mountain for disadvantaged kids and low income families. Both are long time students of Marshall Rosenburg's Non Violent Communication and interested in building community and learning more about Earth supporting alternative practices. We are both engaging, conscientious and progressive in our views. WE are committed to "walking our talk" as we stay open to and grateful for new experiences and ways of thinking/being in the world. We look forward to meeting you and enriching each others' lives.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    66 & 58

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    We are hard working, open to constructive criticism and relationship building. We have no limits physically are flexible and collaborative in nature and take care of ourselves in order to support our goals and others.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      fresh whole foods preferred, gluten free when possible and vegetable anything!

Photos

Feedback