Help us with general maintenance and gardening in Gevingey, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are British and we bought a beautiful old farm house (1733) in the French Jura a few years ago. It is in a small lovely village nestled at the bottom of the vinyards and forests. Lots of gorgeous lakes close by. We are also 10 m away from a small town called Lons le Saunier and 5 minutes away from a huge shopping centre with anything one needs. We are renovating the house and making the garden beautiful.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I spend most of our time at home gardening and writing (he is a retired philosopher, I am still working remotely as a lawyer). We are happy to speak English or French with our guests. I also do lots of walking in the mountains (am a member of a couple of clubs) and happy to take the person along. The area is very beautiful. We have a couple of mountain bikes - best cycling it seems around here in France as low hills and no traffic (Jura is not v touristic). Our workawayers are welcome to use them.

  • Help

    Help

    The property has a huge garden which needs lots of upkeep (we are trying to turn it slowly into an English garden....). We need help with weeding and watering mainly (v little rain and v hot in summer). We also would love someone who is a bit of a handyman as there are always things going wrong with such a big property (there are several outbuildings etc). But gardening the most important.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would be v happy to speak any of the languages I know with my guests. And would love to practice Italian (v v basic)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lovely double room with a view on the garden - amazing sunsets!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned above, walking, cycling, swimming (closest lake 20 minutes away by car, would be a great bike ride!). Lots of villages around - with spectacles at night, often outside and v cheap. Lons le Saunier has also lots of cultural activities, bars, jazz et.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a desk in the double bedroom they would be using. Excellent wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of parking space

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 997551833115