Join us in our rural home & enjoy amazing nature in Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

updated   Last minute

Favourited 269 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 61 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    LAST MINUTE HOSTING JUNE 2022 - painting needed :)

    We are looking for an individual or couple to do painting for 5 hours per day. In exchange, you can stay in a king bed (see bnb profile) with use of kitchen, hot tub and pool. We may do some communal meals but this isn’t guaranteed.

    We're Jamie and Adam, originally from the UK, we're now living on Vancouver Island in a small village called Youbou with our two dogs. Two years ago we bought our first home to run partially as a holiday rental. The house is in finished condition but our acre of land needs work. We have previously used Workaway.info whilst travelling South America and have had nothing but positive experiences! We've been hosting for 18 months now and having a lot of fun!

    We both work from home and will be busy sometimes so labour will mostly be solitary. We appreciate self-starters :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We moved to rural BC for a quieter lifestyle. The benefit of spending time at our place is to relax and take in the views of the lake, and enjoy the hiking/boating/fishing as well as cultural events that the wonderful Cowichan Valley has to offer.

    We enjoy board games and making music together, maybe doing some yoga too <3

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Cleaning up our acre of land; this involves:

    - Hand weeding and laying fabric to smother weeds
    - Painting
    - Deep cleaning
    - Harvesting and splitting wood if needed

    Work is usually physical and can be monotonous. November - February is rainy season and you may get very wet since most work we can offer is mostly outdoors. We highly recommend bringing some decent rain gear along :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    bnb bedroom, self catered

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the side of a mountain so there are some nice walks/hikes around; there's a nice waterfall a short hike from our place and if you're adventurous you can explore new trails on Mt Holmes. Within 30-60 minutes' drive, there is an abundance of hiking, lakes, beaches, and attractions.

    We have a hot tub we often hang out in during our cool valley evenings and a swimming pool for the hot summer days.

    We also have a energetic dog! Please only contact us if you are 100% comfortable and enjoy the company of dogs as they will try to lick your face and can be very rambunctious. Please mention the word JONI in your application. This is so we know you have read everything and you know what to expect! :)

    To get around independently there is a local bus service that goes into the town of Lake Cowichan and hitchhiking around here is doable as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a fast internet connection and encourage people to bring their own hobbies, online or not.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large space with plug in.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 996541769576