Gardening and stargazing... Boreal forest, East Braintree, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a croft in the Boreal forest, at the edge of the Canadian Shield, situated on 4 acres.
    Abundant wildlife, a quiet lane, beautiful night skies, a small organic garden and a few chickens.
    I'm hoping to find someone to share my space for a couple of months this winter who can shovel the sidewalk, bring in firewood and feed the hens.
    I live very quietly, and mainly occupy my time with writing. I'm mobility challenged.

    If you are looking for a quiet place for the winter to curl up with a book and a cup of tea by the fire, you would like it here.
    I have a piano and other instruments, and art supplies.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience the local flora and fauna, peaceful surroundings, and rural life in a semi off grid setting.
    Learn how to care for chickens.
    Experience winter in Manitoba.

  • Help

    Help

    Help is needed with the following:

    Daily care of 2 hens, egg collection, food and water.

    Shovel a path to the shed when needed.

    Bring in one wheelbarrow load of firewood daily.

    For a maximum of 2 hours a day, Monday to Thursday.
    The rest of the time is your own.
    No experience needed.
    The host will help and give directions.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation is a sunny private guest room with comfortable furnishings, a double bed, clean bedding, a dresser and chair, home cooked meals, free laundry, shared washroom and kitchen, in a small cottage.

    Full disclosure, the cottage is undergoing renovations, so it's not perfect, but there's hot and cold running water, and it's warm and cozy.


    Sample menu:
    Breakfast: eggs, toast, coffee or tea.
    Lunch: homemade soup
    Supper: burger, salad, baked potato.

    (I can cook vegetarian if preferred.)

    *420 friendly, but not alcohol friendly.
    *No bonfires allowed.
    * Must be vaccinated for Covid
    *No transportation available

    This setting will appeal to someone who wants a quiet space for online work, or just to rest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest city is one hour away by car. There is a gas station and cafe 10 minutes away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have room in the yard to park a van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours day, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 578942735927