Help with outdoor projects at our place in Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Davina and Simon are the owners of a 6 hectares property whom they bought in July 2018. Building renovation, construction and permaculture have been the main activities for the past year - currently, along with Simon and Davina, we have 3x long term volunteers (Giordano, italian all rounder - Olga, ukrainian kitchen manager and Steffen, german farmer/gardener.

    We welcome volunteer help mostly in the maintenance of the gardens and permaculture terraces around the property, building and maintenance of existing spaces.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The cultural exchange opportunity is mostly through our international team, people with several years of experiences around the world and a few here in Portugal - we regularly work with local artisans/builders and the small community of Monchique offers a great chance to view and live the Algarve hills lifestyle in full.

    Due to the great variety of work and activities available within the property, volunteers have a chance to learn several skills by working on the land: wood work, terraces grass trimming, weeding gardens, organic building, composts, permaculture, harvesting, planting and maintaining our terraces.

  • Help

    Help

    We usually focus on the maintenance of the large terraces of our 6 hectares of land - mostly, watering gardens, strimming, collecting compost material, building steps around the property, treating wood, maintaining irrigation systems, weeding gardens and harvesting food for our little community to serve at the table for meals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Ukrainian, Portuguese, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We built a "Volunteers Village on the east end of the property: fully functional kitchen (fridge, gas hob, cutlery, plates, pots and pans)

    We provide also space for tens (or a tent if required) for spring and summer - we all live indoors (inside the property) autumn and winter.

    We organise lunch around 1pm, prepared by our kitchen manager - for breakfast and dinner, everyone can use our shared kitchen, where we store food for everyone to prepare whatever they wish - we follow a ovo-lacto vegetarian diet, and the owners provide sufficient food regularly

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located just 30km from the amazing coastline of the Algarve - half an hour car or bus to the beach, plenty of natural walks - Monchique is a very small and quiet community, just 3km from our property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 995655127551