Join us to create a garden, play with clay and build with wood in a small community located in the heart of South West Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 250 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ola amigo/s!

    We are a small family living in the heart of South West Alentejo in Portugal, a very interesting alternative area close to Tamera Community and many small farms and communities that we are connected with, as well as local markets, amazing beaches and a beautiful paradise river called "pego das pias"

    We are Ofir, originally from Israel, Emilia from Sweden and little Alva that was born here in Portugal with a beautiful home birth :)

    Since a few years we are running a ethical clothes business from home and our aim is to create a self sustainable permaculture and art community here together with a few more families.

    We are vegans since long time and very connected to healthy food and lifestyle, and we wish to inspire everyone who stays at our place to eat delicious and nutritious vegan food. Emilia is a professional rawfood chef as well so if you are interested she can teach many nice things in this area!

    We both like to practice yoga, meditation, we LOVE massage and have a lot of connection to tantra practice. We like music and dance, good vibes and joyful living!

    Before settling in Portugal we were both global travelers for many years (Ofir travelled and worked in more than 20 countries around the world) and got knowledge about many different areas which has given us a good base for starting our community project.

    Little Alva is soon 2.5 years. She is a true nature child - very wild, happy and social! Atm we have a small kindergarten playgroup at the land where she and a few more kids play together 4 days a week. So you can expect very much of a family vibe here :)

    Our farm is very new and we love to welcome fresh creative energy to our place!

    Our main focus right now is on preparing our summer garden as well as planting trees, finishing our communal structures including wood and clay buliding, but we also have work in many other areas since we're building up the place from scratch.

    We wish that you as a volunteer will bring your unique gift and skills to our place and help in the area/s that feels most natural and inspiring for you!

    Atm we are mainly looking for experienced gardeners who would like to take on themselves a seasonal project. If you are interested to sell from the garden and earn some living we are open to it as well. For this specific area we would prefer a couple with a car that can be more autonomous.

    We would like you to join us for a long period of time, at least 1 month but we prefer longer and we will ask you to work around 4 hours a day 5 days a week.

    Our kitchen is 100% VEGAN and we will take care about all your needs for the food ingredients, Lunch we are eating together, break fast and dinner we do as we feel day by day. we will ask you for contribution of 25 euro per a week, if you prefer do not contribute this is fine for us and in that case you will to buy your own food and eat separate from the rest.

    We have a fully equipped community kitchen that is for everyone to use + dry compost toilet and a community shower.

    For more info please contact us by email. We are looking forward to hear from you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So as I said we are located in very interesting area and located in beautiful location in the nature. I have skills in buliding with wood, clay and stones and if you are interested to learn it I will do my best to give you a project that contacted to it. Emilia she is an artist in every thing she do and as she is Raw food shef, she like to teach and make amazing healthy and vegan food.
    As well we both have knowledge in gardening.
    But what the most we are looking for people who like to start new projects and to be creative.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a new garden so we are very welcome gardeners who like to be creative and start a new project!!! I will say that this is the main thing that we are working on right now, We will like to have people who are experience gardeners that will like to join us to the project for long term.

    As well we need to bulid more things out side of the house to make the place more comfortable for the visitors so we will need help in wood building, clay and natural stones, depends on what you like to do and what is your gifts.

    Contact us and we will share with you the specific projects that we are into during the next weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a Caravan and a Van that they can be used for a single or a couple and we have a tent that as well can fit for a single or a couple, If you wish to stay in your own tent or Van we have plenty of space.
    We have an communal kitchen which is very nice space and it have stunning view.
    The toilets are compost toilet, we have one communal and one in the family house.
    At the moment the shower are inside the family house but you welcome to use it much as you like, we have planty of hot water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on a beautiful hill with stunning view and surrounding with amazing nature that invite for walks, we like to sit together, just chill and talk or play music, in the evening you welcome to make fire and sit around. As well we have lockal markets twise a month, the beaches in half an hour drive and the river 20 minutes drive from us.
    Sometimes in the weekends we can go there all together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We can host digital nomads but we can't provide you a full time Wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes we can and will be happy to host you with your own Van

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 985778729247