Be part of my project, live in nature and help restore an old farm and land near Ferreira do Zezere, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ******** UPDATE *******

    Please check my availability before contacting me. Thank you!

    ***********************

    >> BUILDUNG <<

    * preserve a stone wall inside the building
    * flooring
    * tiling
    * roof insulation indoors
    * sanitary installations
    * building a shelf and closets in the loft area
    * installing doors
    * wallpapering/painting

    It would be great to have experience with that! Let's do this together.

    >> GARDEN <<

    * PRUNING the fruit trees.
    " BURN garden waste.
    * Create a PERMACULTURE garden with me!
    * The SOIL needs to be prepared for vegetable growing.
    * Create an HERB SNAIL.
    * The FIRE PITCH needs an enforced wall with big natural stones.
    * Install an IRRIGATION SYSTEM in the big garden (a lot of trees plus vegetables)!
    * Kiwi Hill (4 plants) needs a big PERGOLA.
    * WEEDING is always needed!
    * The fruit trees need WATERING.
    * A GATE waits to be installed.
    * Would you have fun CUTTING some eucalyptus TREES in my forest and build a ROOF on one of the ruins?
    * Build a SWIMMING POOL out of the square wine basin in the main yard.

    ♡=> You don't have to be vaccinated! <=♡

    ******************************

    Hi Workawayers!

    Help me restore an old farm with a big orchard and upcoming vegetable garden in Central Portugal!

    I am 55 years old and from Germany. I have bought a beautiful old farm of 12.000 m² with a stone house, two ruins and two wells in the center of Portugal (near Ferreira do Zêzere) that needs to be renovated / rebuilt. Even though I will have professional contractors there still are a lot of things to do!

    Having been a Workawayer for one year of travel around the world a few years ago I would appreciate some help for myself. Please feel invited if you are interested in helping this project proceed and grow - not forgetting to enjoy life and the area! :-)

    P.S. Please be aware that there us only a (cold) garden shower and an outdoor toilet!!! The feeling could be described as rather off grid.
    Two bikes will be available for you.

    ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆

    Sorry, right now I cannot offer WiFi for you, but the cell phone coverage is usually good enough.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to know this nice and quite area and landscape with healthy maritime weather and the smell of eucalyptus, singing birds...

    As I am new in Portugal (I originally am German and right now travel quite often) I cannot give you a very close look in to Portugese lifestyle yet. Sorry for that!

    Also I have some friends living in the area, and there is a growing community of foreigners that are connecting quickly.

    Maybe you will find here your own real estate you dream of (the prices are reasonably low)??

    => Please note that my place is in a rural area with farms and agriculture. The next bus stop is a 15-minute-walk away, the bus runs once a day... Two bikes are available for my helpers.

    You should bring enough to read, your yoga mat or whatever you need to feel comfortable away from the institutions of modern society.

    => It is advisable to bring good and waterproof shoes, working clothes and maybe even rubber boots.

    My library has quite a few German and English books (prose and garden helpers).

    I have a guitar that waits to be played as well. :-)

  • Help

    Help

    I bought an old farm in Central Portugal that has to be rebuilt - the interior needs to be built up anew (for the rough works I will have a construction company), the garden needs weeding, cleaning the well and providing a water supply for new planted trees.

    What I need are:

    HELP WITH (FOR THE HOUSE)

    > plumbing
    > roof insulation indoors
    > tiling
    > flooring
    > wood works
    > interior design
    > painting

    FOR THE GARDEN

    * gardeners and garden helpers, tree surgeons (plant and cut trees, cut blackberries)
    * harvest workers (olive harvest)
    * help with burning branches and garden waste
    * helping hands for nesting aids / bird houses
    * strong arms to move stones
    * carpenters and joiners (sauna hut and yoga platform)

    => Good boots or rubber boots are highly recommendable...!!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I definitely want to learn Portugese. I can share my language skills in German and English with you!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    CARAVAN
    I will share with you my private caravan that is in the garden at a very beautiful and "gemuetlich" spot within the garden. Two single beds are for you - or the dining area after having used it in the evening (in colder times)!

    Cosy and in a good shape:
    There is the bed area, the cooking area, the table area. There is a toilet house nearby (outside). The caravan has ventilated heating and running water. There is a nice and protected garden shower, a seperate cooking area in the old stable and a nice sitting area in the beautiful yard that I use during the warmer seasons.

    TENT
    I have two tents (for two and one person) as well. Please note that I can only except two helpers still.

    LOFT
    The loft area in the annex is ready to use (still no windows and doors). It is a dorm right now.

    OWN EQUIPMENT
    Of course you can bring your own tent or your own camper. Water and electricity will be provided.

    * Meals *
    As I prefer local vegetables I don't eat a lot of meat but can cook it for you. I can offer strict vegetarian food or other dietary needs as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My farm is nearby FERREIRA DO ZÊZERE (Santarém) in the center of Portugal.

    The next bus stop (on request) is within walking distance.
    Ferreira do Zêzere (nice little town with a lot of cafés and a weekly market, public bus to Lisbon, public and free indoor pool) is a 7-minute-drive away, around 5 km to walk or bike, I can usually take you and pick you up to/from there.
    The beautiful LAKE CASTELO DE BODE (where you can do all kinds of watersports) is about 15 minutes away. TOMAR (old Knights Templar) is a 20-minutes-drive (I go there once a week or so),
    LISBON (vivid city with a lot of historic buildungs and culture, next airport) 1.5 hours,
    PORTO (also airport) can be reached within 2.5 hours.
    Famous cities in the area are also COIMBRA and FÁTIMA.
    The Portugese ROAD TO SANTIAGO (hiking) is about 20 minutes from my farm.
    Also there are quite a few ROCK CLIMBING spots within a 1-hour-drive (let me join you!).
    And of course the ATLANTIC OCEAN for the BEACH and SURFING (at about 1 hour) and SWIMMING for the harder ones!
    The big garden invites you also to just be, breathe, dream a day dream, read a book, listen to the birds and cicadas, have a yoga session... :-)

    I might be able to pick you up at the train station in Tomar or at the bus station in Ferreira do Zêzere - let us communicate about that.
    There is enough space for parking your own car / camper.
    Sometimes I can take you to explore the area on your work-free days.
    I also have two bikes to take and explore the area (21 gears)!

    Meals: As I prefer local vegetables I don't eat a lot of meat but can cook it for you. I can offer strict vegetarian food or other dietary needs as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can also bring your tent or camper. Water and electricity will be provided. A (cold) garden shower (plus camping solar shower) and nice outdoor toilet wait for you.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you want to bring your dog, it will have to stay outside my caravan, house and car - sorry.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 615968867176