Come and join our beautiful country living with horses in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 285 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located near Priddis, Alberta near the beautiful foothills of the Rocky Mountains. (15 minutes west of south Calgary) in the country.
    I own 3 dogs, 2 cats in the house and three horses. I have grown up with horses in my life from a young age and continue enjoy spending time with my horses at home or in competition.

    Currently we have 11 horses under our care and they stay overnight in a barn and are turned out daily.

    Require someone with Horse experience (able to handle them) and love of animals to help out. Also person MUST HAVE previous riding experience to ride my horses. I don’t consider trail riding, riding experience because the horses are dead broke. I don’t currently have any horses for beginner riders.

    I have a busy schedule; so a self starter type person is very important. Also someone who works well with others. Some lifting may be required so a good fitness level would be required.

    Accommodations provided and food. ** we have had several vegetarian gals over the years but we are taking a break, unfortunately we can not accommodate vegetarians at this time.

    Zero tolerance drug policy. Limited alcohol

    If you are all about posing for your personal Instagram account we are probably not the place for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn to work with horses, ride and enjoy country living but close to the city.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for help doing daily chores with the horses. (Feeding, mucking stalls, taking horses (big horses, not ponies) in & out of the barn.
    Some tasks like fixing fences, shelters. Pulling weeds from my gardens, some grass cutting in summer.
    Help with domestic chores would also be a great benefit.
    May require house sitting on occasion.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Basement apartment in bungalow with private bath and infloor heating, & gas fireplace

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Skiing snowshoeing biking horseback riding hiking all within 1 hour of property.
    15 minutes from Spruce Meadows (amazing show jumping competitions in the summer).
    Bragg Creek is 15 west of us where the is great hiking, restaurants and unique shops.
    Banff is about 1 hour drive west of us with hot springs, wildlife, restaurants, hiking & skiing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)




























Host ref number: 995178892658