Help with day to day life : gardening, renovating and taking care of the animals in the beautiful Baie-Saint-Paul, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a French and Canadian couple who recently bought a bicentennial house in the beautiful Baie-Saint-Paul. It is perfectly habitable and there is no major work to do, but we welcomed our first little baby in February 2022 and we would love for the renovations to advance a bit more! We also have 2 acres and a half which has been fallow for many years and a beautiful barn. We are planning to plant fruit trees and berries every year. For now, we have chickens and a veggie garden. We also have a dog and a cat. Ariane has studied carpentry and Benjamin forestry and we both work for a non profit organisation, La Traversée de Charlevoix, which offers a 105 km long hiking trail. We both love being outdoors, hiking, skiing, sailing (we have a small 20 feet sailboat). Benjamin loves mountain biking and bicycles in general!
    Ariane loves music, foraging wild plants and mushrooms, and homemade cleaning products and cosmetics.
    Ariane is in maternal leave till January 2023.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even if we don't have a lot of experience in renovation of an Canadian Heritage house, Ariane studied carpentry and has some knowledge she would love to share if wanted. She is also eager to learn from a more experienced carpenter.
    She can also share recipes of homemade creams, balms, soap or cleaning products if you have interest in that.
    Benjamin is a sailor who loves to share sailing stories and sailing facts and if the sailboat is in the water when you come he will surely take you out on the Saint-Laurent and teach you some sailing basics.
    We can also take you to visit our region, which is truly beautiful to our eyes.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we need is technically not difficult. A little experience in renovation can surely help us, but you don't need to have done it before and we can show you how to do it if needed. We will also adapt the work according to you skills.

    We are working in our attic, which was one big room. We are renovating it in 2 rooms, a bathroom and a storage room. We will need help during the different steps of building the separation walls, isolation, finishing, painting, etc.

    We have a vegetable garden that we want to expend, so there's always some work to do in our garden as well. We are also planning to plant some fruit trees and berries.
    Eventually we would like to have sheeps and build a greenhouse, but this last project will be on the long run.

    We also have different chores we have to do around the house, like preparing the fire wood for the winter, prepare the land, take care of the chickens, and all the other usual chores like cooking and cleaning.
    Taking care of our baby Siméon could also be a possible task if we are both confortable with it.
    We can plan together what is the work that would suit you best and would interest you the most.

    We would like you to help for 25 hours a week. We can plan together how much hours on which day to get you the maximum of days off during your stay if that is what you would like.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Portugais Breton

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During summer, we have a trailer tent with a double and simple bed, where you could stay and have your privacy. We would share a bathroom and the kitchen and livingroom in the house. We provide all the food during your stay.
    We can also lend you a bicycle so you can easily move around town during your stay.


    We live just 15 minutes walking from the centre, near shops, banks, restaurants and museums but at calm outside the busy neighbourhood. There is also a river just 5 minutes walk behind our house where your can have a beautiful swim.

    We like cultural exchange and we like to get to know you. But we appreciate our private time as well, and we suppose you do also.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a region where there is many many outdoor activities available.
    You can kayak, hike, ski, backcountry ski, skate, swim, go mountainbiking, etc.
    There are also 2 beautiful national parks relatively near.
    Baie-Saint-Paul is also a small town which emphasis a lot on arts. There are many galleries and an art museum.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a regular high velocity wi-fi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space where you could park!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would accept animal with some conditions.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 633858914584