Active family of four on border of Kluane National Park and Reserve open to visitors that want to help out! Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active family of four: Ryan, 39 year old stay at home dad and property/family manager extraordinaire, Meghann, workaholic nurse mom, Margaret, 6 year old biking/horse lover, and Benji, 3.5 year old lego and heavy equipment aficionado. We are living on a busy rural property at the edge of Haines Junction, Yukon Territory, home of the amazing Kluane National Park and Reserve.

    We have a retired sled dog kennel of around ten old dogs, a cat, and sometimes chickens or pigs. In the summer, we have a garden and greenhouse as well as another property to maintain and clean up with a life time's worth of puttering to do! We love to share our property with people who like to work and play as hard as we do! We live close to a swimming lake in the summer and right on an amazing trail network for biking, hiking, and cross country skiing. There are countless opportunities for recreation, all in the stunning beauty of the St. Elias mountains!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be your connection with the local community, letting you know great places to go, people to see, and regaling you with incredible hunting stories. We can't work all day when there is 22 hours of sunlight, so we may take you out recreating when it's time for a break.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with everything from light labour and building to animal care (possibly including the very well behaved kids) and gardening. You will usually be working with someone, to make it more productive and fun!

    We have a million little projects, including building a tree house for the kids, planter boxes, fixing vehicles, and there is always firewood to cut! We have a large, immaculately kept wood shop that is excited to be used to its full potential. There are really endless possibilities for projects and things to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a bit of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a two private bedrooms, one upstairs and one in the basement. You will have a private bathroom, including bathtub/shower and access to shared laundry. We have a communal kitchen and can share nightly meals, possibly other meals, depending on how the day is going and what everyone is up to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on a beautiful hobby farm with countless opportunities for hiking, biking, paddling, and more! There is always loads to do, even if it's just hanging out on the porch in the wood fired hot tub, taking in the views of the beautiful Auriol range. Haines Junction is a 90 minute drive from Whitehorse, the capital of the Yukon. Some transportation may be available, depending on need and timing.


    We try to spend as much time together, outside, as possible. We are very open and value direct, honest communication. We understand that people need downtime to recharge and refresh and are able to identify when we need time as well.

    Although we have a bunch of animals and kids, we work to keep the house and property in order as we find that tidy house is important for our sanity. We genuinely love to meet new people and make new friends! We are excited to welcome like minded people who are excited to check out Haines Junction into our home!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 989795299434