Come help with renovations while discovering Montreal, Canada!

Country

Canada

Favourited 268 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    95

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workawayers!
    I can't wait to meet you! I'm a writer and ceramic artist who's looking for some help managing my 2 properties: one in the city and one in the country. I've been hosting foreign language students for many years and have loved meeting people from all over the world. Over the past 3 years I've discovered the Workaway program and am loving it! My home in Montreal is 30 minutes from downtown by public transport. My country place is a beautiful 50 acre property 45 minutes from the city.

    The country property requires a lot of garden and yard maintenance, painting, small renovations, and house cleaning. Projects for the city property include painting, cleaning, gardening and some maintenance. And, darn it, I'm only one person! So I'm looking for a workawayer who can help with some of that.

    I have two daughters (ages 28 & 31) and they'll also be good resources for what's happening around town when you come.

    From May - September I can host couples, but in the fall I only have room for a single.

    *** PLEASE SEE MY SPECIFIC 2020 NEEDS BELOW, AND WHEN YOU CONTACT ME, INDICATE WHICH TASKS YOU HAVE THE INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE TO UNDERTAKE.

    Cheers,
    Liz

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As I mentioned, I've hosted foreign students for many years, helping them to learn English and introducing them to this wonderful city. I've also taught English as a second language, so I have some professional experience too.

    I'm also an avid gardener, so I'd be pleased to transfer some of those skills as well.

    The most exciting thing about coming here, though, will be experiencing all that Montreal has to offer: French and English language, dozens of cultural and music festivals, natural beauty, a funky shopping and artistic scene.

    The Workaways I've had also love chilling out at my country house. It's a serene break from the stresses of constant travel. I was surprised, at first, that people would be happy to stay at a no-internet location. But it seems that being unplugged for awhile can actually be a big plus!

    Many of the Workaways who've stayed here in Montreal don't ever want to leave!

  • Help

    Help

    WHEN YOU CONTACT ME, PLEASE INDICATE WHICH SPECIFIC TASKS YOU HAVE THE INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE TO UNDERTAKE. SOME PROJECTS WILL REQUIRE PRIOR EXPERIENCE.

    For 2020, here are the types of projects I'd like to tackle:

    PAINTING, FURNITURE REFINISHING & WALLPAPER REMOVAL: The painting is indoors and outdoors (including sanding and surface preparation). Experience is required for painting and wallpaper removal. The furniture refinishing involves stripping the furniture, sanding and repainting. Experience is preferred but not necessary.

    CONSTRUCTION: If you have construction experience I have a few projects that require specific skill, like installing doors, puttying windows, cement step repair, etc. Good experience is required for each particular project.

    FURNITURE REPAIR: If you're a skilled carpenter, I have several pieces (mostly chairs) that need repair.

    GARDENING AND YARD MAINTENANCE: This includes weeding, transplanting, pruning, harvesting veggies, possibly wood chopping, replenishing gravel on the country road, etc. There is also a big project removing stones from the country pond which will require good physical fitness. No experience is required for most of this work (except wood chopping) but if you have gardening experience, that's a plus!

    SEWING AND MENDING: I have a few clothing alteration and mending projects that you might be interested in if you're skilled with a sewing machine, experienced at hand sewing and can use an iron.

    CLEANING AND ORGANISATION: This is mostly the regular house & outdoor cleaning stuff with some small organisational tasks.

    COOKING: A lot of workaways offer their cooking services to me. That's great and I love eating delicious meals from all over the world - but honestly, it's not a top priority for me in 2020. You can certainly mention it in your message if it's something you'd like to do in addition to other projects.

    OTHER: If there are other special skills you have to offer you can certainly let me know, though the projects listed above are my priorities. Sometimes I'm surprised and delighted by the talents my Workaways bring with them and it's been a great bonus to benefit from them. Last year a brilliant & creative Workawayer made me a website for a book project! Another made a drone video of my country property! So if you have something special to offer that you think I would appreciate (having read my host profile) please let me know.

    A NOTE ON WORKING OUTDOORS IN CANADA: Please be aware that outdoor work in Canada in the summer can mean dealing with mosquitos and other bugs. And even though Canada is known to have a cold climate, in summer, temperatures can reach over 25 degrees celsius. In the spring and fall, it's much cooler and there are far fewer bugs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In both homes I provide a private room (bed, desk, bureau, closet) with a shared bathroom. You have access to the rest of the common areas of the home (kitchen, living room, dining room, laundry). I can only accept two workaways together if you're a couple and can share a bed.

    Depending when you come, there may be one or two others, besides me, living in the home.

    I'll provide all meals and/or food supplies. If you're working and staying at the country property you will likely be preparing all your own meals with the food I supply. At the city house, I'll do most of the cooking. I'm not vegetarian, but don't mind cooking veggie meals. If you like to cook and would like to share this task, let me know! Unfortunately, if you're a strict vegan, it will be difficult to accommodate your needs.

    Under certain circumstances, if we agree to a reduced workload (something like 10 -15 hours per week) I could provide accommodation without the meals (or with fewer meals).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While there's unlimited wifi at my home in the city, there's no internet at the country house where the majority of the work will be done in the spring and summer. Internet is available at a local coffee shop nearby if you need to get online.

    In your free time you can get downtown from my city house in 30 minutes via bus & metro. There's so much to do in Montreal it's impossible to list everything!

    Non-smokers only please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Weeding the veggie garden!
sanding and painting garage
lots of painting to do!
making maple syrup in the country
final boiling of the sap to make maple syrup at the country house
fixing the roof in the country
drilling the holes to make maple syrup in the country
building the stove to make maple syrup in the country
our country road
Awesome Dutch pancake breakfast compliments of my Workaway, Anouk!
living room in Montreal
dining room in Montreal
Country house in the spring
Montreal house
workaway bedroom

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 984721331214