1 / 5

Help us set up a food forest close to beautiful beaches in Waipu, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We live on a large lifestyle block 126 acres near Waipu which is mainly native forest. We have lived here for six years and love the feeling of remoteness while still being only 15 minutes drive from both the village and the beach. Adam works remotely from home and I run a small beekeeping business. We have two grown up children living overseas, 3 dogs, two cats, a small herd of cows, chickens, and bees. Currently we are establishing a wetland planting, rebuilding a large potting shed, and are at the beginning stages of establishing a food forest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be treated like part of the family and included in all our activities. There will be the opportunity to learn about wetland restoration, livestock and, if you are interested, beekeeping.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with weeding, gardening and planting trees in the right season. There is also some farm help so building and woodwork skills would also be great.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a comfortable sleep out, so you can have your own space separate from the house but will share the bathroom and living facilities with us. We produce our own meat, eggs and honey and are happy to cook and share our food with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have beautiful beaches and good walks in the area. There are also caves nearby. We have kayaks which you can borrow to explore the local estuaries and rivers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 763532454825

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with a non-profit forest school regenerating land near Pukaha wildlife center, New Zealand
Join a kiwi family and help with day to day life in Martinborough, New Zealand