Help create an eco friendly cottage in Colombo, Sri Lanka


Sri Lanka

Favourited 5 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Hello this is Monti. I work for a bank in Colombo, the capital city of Sri Lanka. My home town is a small village located about 75km (2.5Hrs) away from Colombo. At my village my family has 5 acres of land with a very small derelict house. The house remains as its original character surrounded by trees that have not been cut or disturbed for 20 years. Also the land has never been used in any commercial aspect such as farming or industrial work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your stay at our village you will experience authentic non touristy village life. All the village people are respectful and innocent towards visitors. Most of my international friends who have stayed at my village in the past have been invited to enjoy food, fruits and local tea with our neighbours. Near by you are able to visit one of the main rivers, the longest hanging bridge in Sri Lanka, waterfalls and temples. Also within 1.5 hours travel you can visit an elephant orphanage, white water rafting and tea estates.
    After the project is complete as a big thank you for your help we will be happy to offer you and your family members free stay at the cottage any time you wish to return to Sri Lanka during your lifetime.

  • Help


    I want to renovate our house and land into an eco friendly cottage / summer house / holiday bungalow / hideout place (peaceful place for meditation ect..) . I am looking for some help from an Architect, Designer, construction professional or anyone interesting in this kind of project. The special aim is to renovate the house and land without cutting any trees or changing the natural landscape.

    As my family only lives 5.5km away from the land my parents will be able to host you at our house and provide accommodation and meals. Only knowledge and manual labour if available is expected from the visitor to help with this project. Local assistant workers can be provided at your request.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , Sinhala , (Learning German)

  • Accommodation


    As my family only lives 5.5km away from the land my parents will be able to host you at our house and provide accommodation in separate unite with 2 bed rooms , pantry , store room, bathroom & living room.
    Meals can be provided for up to 2 people else we happy if you can prepare your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally we would expect you to work at least 4 days per week on the project but we are happy to negotiate according to your travel plans

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 524276872624