Biodynamic Permaculture Farm in New South Wales

Country

Australia

Favourited 376 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    45  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a beautiful 100 acre property halfway between Sydney and Canberra. Here we operate a 5 acre vineyard (4000 vines) of predominantly Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot varieties. There is also a 6000 litre aquaponics system and a greenhouse which grows produce all year round. We operate on biodynamic and permaculture principles, and are passionate about growing healthy soils, plants, and produce. There is always plenty to do here, and we are constantly researching and implementing new holistic farm practices.
    We grow much of our own food and we like to eat a healthy diet which includes lots of vegetables and some fish and meat. We do not have sweets and sugary drinks available, and pasta and desserts are not often on the menu. We prefer to host people who enjoy a healthy and varied diet.
    Due to our rural location this is a perfect getaway for anyone wishing to recharge and rejuvenate in a stunning natural environment. There are plenty of nature walks throughout the area, kangaroos and wallabies galore, and so many different types of birds, we haven't managed to identify them all yet!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have travelled extensively and lived in the UK and Hong Kong. We enjoy learning about other cultures and cuisines and usually ask our workawayers to cook some of their favourite dishes during their stay. We are passionate about growing nutrient dense food and rejuvinating the land and will be running workshops to teach people how to do this in our climate.

  • Help

    Help

    We are always looking for help with a range of projects on the go at any one time, from building dry stone walls, to preparing garden beds, planting trees, vineyard work and more.
    During August and September, we are pruning the vineyard and preparing it for this years production, as well as spring vegetable planting for the summer bounty.
    We do attend various local farmers markets most weekends, where we sell our wines and seasonal produce.
    Being able to work unsupervised is a bonus and if you have had any previous experience working on the land that would be great.
    We prefer people to stay with us for a minimum of 2-3 weeks and longer stays (up to 6 weeks maximum) will be considered once we have met you. We do not normally take anyone over Christmas and January (20th December to 26th January) as it gets unpleasantly hot but we could be persuaded if you have skills that we would appreciate.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spare bedrooms in a wing of the house, both with double beds, and access to a bathroom. Meals are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 10 minutes drive from the Bungonia Gorge, which is a popular tourist campsite, and has great walks, caves, and canyoning. Goulburn is our nearest town and is 30 minutes drive away and we go into town 1-2 times per week. There are some beautiful walks and scenery around the area, and it is a quiet location for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week (4-5 hours per day) usually Monday-Friday



























Host ref number: 968967662946