Join our family, help with gardening, animals and restoration in Donegal, Ireland



Favourited 1066 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We have three children land we live in a restored cottage in rural Donegal. We are currently working on making a tea room and making an outdoor area . We have a large vegetable garden and plan to work on a forest garden and fruit picking orchards. This coming autumn we are working on the above, as well as finishing work on the outbuildings and working on our garden . We are also looking to have animals on the land soon but this is a working progress ! We have been hosting WorkAwayers since 2014 and have had a great journey with them .
    Unfortunately, Due to covid we will need to make sure all safety checks are carried out and we will have do a zoom interview before placement decision.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gardening skills especially growing vegetables, English conservation, family life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are currently looking for someone to help with our project for the next 3 months. We are looking for couples, with with good woodwork, building skills and preferable to lead on this to help with the new project . We also prefer someone with an interest in growing food to help with garden maintenance. Gardening skills is not essential as we can help with training in this. We are also happy to have someone to help with household chores in the main part of the house . We would be happy to show volunteers around our area and introduce them to Donegal. We live in a very quiet but beautiful part of the world.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    One room separate from the main house - we also have extra kitchen space and toilet facilities - if you need to use the Internet we are happy for you to use during the day in the house and in the evenings we have the office space available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have beautiful mountain scenery and live only ten minutes' drive from the beach.
    We facilitate gardening classes so if volunteers wanted to come and attend/help this would be an option also.
    The village is approx 40 mins walk and from there you can get public transport .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have good internet and office space available and we both currently work from home .

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have ample space for a campervan

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 877593231298