Karen

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Super Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I love to travel and be outdoors, especially helping animals & the environment or in a garden. As a traveler, I definitely prefer "off the beaten path" and like to get to know a place by living & volunteering/working there (rather than just sightseeing). I've volunteered at children's charities, animal sanctuaries, and on research projects (most not workaways). Some of my favorite experiences have been in Turkey, Sumatra, Belize, France, Australia, Scotland & Cameroon

    In the past I directed nonprofit charities helping children & families (am recently retired), though my interests have shifted over the past 14 years. From 2001-2015, I've lived in a bush camp in Africa for 3-4 months every year helping to manage a chimpanzee sanctuary. Most recently I've fallen in love with kangaroos and flying foxes while volunteering in Australia. When I'm not traveling, I enjoy living in Seattle and the beautiful Pacific Northwest (own a home there).

    Particular interests: hiking & kayaking, environmental activism, my dog & fostering kittens, a good cup of coffee, gardening, contemporary poetry & novels. OMG, did I forget chocolate?!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Animal care/feeding: dogs, cats & kittens, baby birds, flying foxes, kangaroos, possums & wild chimpanzees! Garden care & weeding; tree planting; retail & waitress experience; housekeeping; good people skills (i.e. dealing with the public, managing staff & volunteers); conversational French; average computer skills (Excel, Word, social media).

    Administrative skills: planning, staffing, budgeting, organizing systems, volunteer recruitment/selection, marketing (all related to nonprofit/charity organizations or wildlife sanctuaries).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    U.S.

  • What else ...

    While I may be older than the typical workaway volunteer (am recently retired), I bring maturity, a strong work ethic and lots of energy, enthusiasm & initiative. I'm willing to tackle most any task, tho appreciate directions! Friends describe me as reliable, organized yet flexible & a hard worker. I'm fine working on my own and also quite enjoy working alongside others. Am sometimes quiet/sometimes outgoing, considerate of others, and love family meals & game nights. If you're interested, I'm happy to share chimp, kangaroo or bat stories. In short, I'm keen to help out with whatever is needed & to learn about your corner of the world. Thanks!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback