Help us with animals and setting up smallholding in rural Ireland

Country

France

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Patricia and Aidan, we are in our 50s and we have two adult children studying in Dublin. We just moved back from France to Ireland to a remote traditional cottage in the West. We have five cats, two rescued cockerels, and four rescued dogs, including a huge gentle pyrénéen mountain dog called Marius and crazy Snoopy who is half Newfoundland and half Collie. You would have to really love animals, especially big dogs! And not be afraid of mucky work!

    We are all vegan, don't use chemicals and our spiders stay where they are!

    We are setting up a small holding so there is lots of general garden work to do, building raised beds, cutting and trimming trees, clearing a small river, fencing, general repair work. Also help with the animals would be essential.

    Aidan works from home and isn't available to help as much as he would like, so help would be really appreciated.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with your English and introduce you to Irish culture and vegan cuisine.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically, anything that needs doing! Gardening, weeding, cutting trees, building fences, clearing a small river that runs at the end of our field, helping walk the dogs and care for the animals. We are very friendly and relaxed so don't expect you to help more than 3 or 4 hours a day, 4 days a week max (unless you want to do more!!).

    We would, of course, expect you to help with all the usual things for day to day living like cooking and tidying and making cups of tea!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are currently working on restoring a tiny separate studio where you would have a sink, cooker and bed for somewhat independent accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas in Ireland in East Clare. Around us is teeming with life; full of birds, deer, foxes, and it is one of the last places in Ireland where pine martens are found. We are quite isolated, our cottage is 1km from the road and the nearest village is 6km away. It would be best if you could drive; then you could borrow our car. Otherwise, we will have a bicycle at your disposal -- but be warned, the roads are narrow with high hedgerows so they are somewhat dangerous. There is no public transport in the local area. The nearest big town is Limerick where there are buses to and from lots of areas around Ireland, including Dublin and Dublin Airport. We can pick you up from Limerick on your arrival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 or 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Our new dog, Snoopy, cheekily snoozing on the couch
Marius and friends in Puppy School
Brother and Sister
Marius likes a good hug!
The four of us in Versailles. Freezing!
Our poor old dog, Porridge, died recently (here with his best friend Mel). He was 18 and a half!
Myself, Aidan and Adam in Bruges




Host ref number: 961653951492