updated  

Help me with DIY projects and experience Western Adventures, Lethbridge, Canada

  • Favourited 199 times
  • Last activity: 23 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hey there, I'm an academic in Lethbridge, Alberta, located in the southwestern part of the province. Known as the "Windy City," Lethbridge boasts a beautiful coulee landscape and the iconic High-Level Bridge spanning the Oldman River. There are plenty of outdoor activities to enjoy, including hiking, biking, fishing, and skiing in the nearby mountains. We also have a vibrant downtown area with unique shops, cafes, and festivals throughout the year. Lethbridge is a friendly and welcoming community, and I'm excited to adventure with you in the West! There are some very lovely places to hang out, and the area offers a lot of places to explore if you like the outdoors.

    I have a four-bedroom house that I recently bought, and with my crazy schedule doing research, writing, and with school, I have been unable to fix it up as much as I would like. I have a pool table and dart board, and need to practice getting better at both :) I have many renovation projects on the go, from painting, changing doors and windows, putting in flooring, building a new garden, putting up trim, fixing doorknobs, sorting boxes, and building in the backyard. It would be nice to have someone handy to undertake projects, move the house along, and help around the house organizing the chaos of a million boxes. Somehow, as soon as they all get put away, new ones appear. I love to cook, entertain, and hang out with friends. We have a fire going pretty much every night in the summer, and guests always come over. During the summer, we have a garden in the back and lots of room in the backyard for all sorts of projects. There is always something on the go, like working on the shed, the kitchen, painting, house projects, working with the garden, finding a place to put everything, organizing, and lots of small fixing and painting projects.

    I am interested in many things, including sci-fi, archaeology, movies, politics and pizza, with a dose of technology, religion and philosophy thrown in for good measure. My academic background includes data science, evaluation projects, technology, sociology, politics, and healthcare. In terms of Music, Movies, and Books, It depends on the book and the movie, but I like to keep it fast-paced and exciting. I am a big fan of Tom Clancy-style books for reading entertainment. I have several thousand books and have read almost all of them. I have come to the point where, for the past decade, I have been forced to read for my academic work and have not always been able to read what I enjoy; this will start to change. I have many literary and cinema interests, except anything horror and metal.

    In addition to teaching graduate students, I design and teach kids to code and teach classes and tutor in several subjects, including social sciences, computer science, data analytics, psychology, statistics, and other data-related courses like Excel, program evaluation, data visualization, and so on. I have a qualitative background in political science and sociology, and my PhD is focused on computer science, which may mean both sides of my brain are working.

    I also often have fun baking and cooking with friends who come over to try out new bread and many other foods. I enjoy showing visitors the sights around town, and often go hiking, exploring or out on the lake on an adventure. I am quite often vegetarian, it just depends what is on hand. I eat a lot of eggs for breakfast, but I like to mix it up and make it interesting. I enjoy talking about research, data analytics, politics, society, history, and anything else. I am excited to exchange ideas with you and learn more about your origins (even if it's Canada).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lethbridge, Alberta is not only a great place for outdoor enthusiasts but also an excellent destination for cultural explorers and those looking to learn new skills. As a data scientist with experience in qualitative and quantitative research, I am excited to share my knowledge and exchange ideas. I have been to 40 countries so far, and I am always happy to visit new places, meet new people, and learn about our amazingly complex world. Lethbridge is home to various cultures and societies, and I would be delighted to share information about them with travellers.

    There are plenty of exciting places to visit in Lethbridge, such as the Nikka Yuko Japanese Garden, which offers a peaceful and serene environment, perfect for relaxing and taking in the beauty of nature. The Galt Museum and Archives is another great place to explore, allowing visitors to delve into the region's history and learn about its unique culture. Fort Whoop-Up is also a must-visit, offering a glimpse into the city's past as a frontier trading post.

    For those interested in outdoor activities, there are plenty of options to choose from, such as kayaking, hiking, and fishing in the nearby mountains. The city also boasts a variety of parks, nature reserves, and walking trails, making it an ideal destination for nature lovers. I would be happy to show you the places I have found, and explore the nature around Lethbridge, the University, and other interesting sites.

    Whether you're interested in learning new skills or just looking for an adventure, Lethbridge has something for everyone.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be great to have someone who is handy with carpentry, painting, organizing, and kitchen renovations to assist with the various house projects. Even if its just watching a YouTube video and figuring out what to do, thats usually how my projects go :) These projects include organizing tools, assembling furniture, working on the flooring and windows, painting, and finishing the living room, building storage solutions like a garbage can holder and firewood log storage bin, putting up shelves and bookcases, constructing a pergola on the deck, and rebuilding stairs and other deck components that require attention. In addition, we need help with kitchen renovations such as working on the cabinets and installing a new backsplash. Even if you don't have a background in construction or design, assistance with organizing boxes and setting up the house would be greatly appreciated. During the winter months, we focus on indoor projects and take the time to fix things up one task at a time. My goal is to keep working on new projects, organize the space, and make repairs and renovations.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have guest rooms with full guest beds and a memory foam mattress, which I am told is very comfortable, and I have another guest bed for the third bedroom and a futon couch in the basement. I will also cook meals and provide transportation.

    Just so you know, I sometimes work from home, which can mean boxes of all types piled to the ceiling on a good day. While the interior of my house sometimes looks more like a warehouse than a home, I keep the guest room clean and tidy, as it is the only place in the house without a stack of boxes or books. Now that I have moved across the country, I am trying to do better this time and get everything sorted and organized.

    Additional Info
    I do not smoke. If you smoke, please do it outside and keep it tidy. I keep strictly kosher, which means I would be happy to make you a meal, but I only want my cutlery/dishes/kitchen used under any circumstances unless I explain the system to you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lethbridge is not only an excellent place to live and work but also serves as a gateway to explore some of Alberta's most renowned destinations. If you're planning a trip to Jasper, Banff, or Calgary, these cities are within reasonable driving distance from Lethbridge. Jasper is approximately a 5-hour drive away, Banff around 2.5 hours, and Calgary about 2 hours. Each of these locations offers a wealth of outdoor activities and tourist attractions, making them well worth the journey.

    Within Lethbridge itself, there are numerous activities to enjoy. The city is surrounded by stunning natural beauty, with the coulees and the Old Man River providing endless opportunities for exploration and outdoor adventure. The University of Lethbridge, with its striking architecture and engaging exhibits, is also a notable place to visit.

    For national park enthusiasts, Waterton Lakes National Park is only about an hour's drive from Lethbridge. This park features breathtaking vistas and offers a variety of activities such as hiking, camping, and wildlife watching. Other excellent day-trip destinations include Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park and the Crowsnest Pass, both of which boast remarkable natural beauty and abundant outdoor activities.

    Lethbridge is well-equipped to help residents and visitors enjoy their time off. The city provides a balanced mix of outdoor adventures, cultural experiences, and relaxation opportunities. With convenient transportation options and easy access to nearby destinations, exploring and experiencing all that the region has to offer is straightforward and enjoyable.

    Transportation within Lethbridge is efficient, with a local transit system covering the entire city. Additionally, the city features numerous bike paths and walking trails, facilitating easy navigation without the need for a car. For those who prefer driving, ample parking is available throughout the city.

    Lethbridge also offers a favorable work-life balance, with its compact size making it easy to explore on foot or by bike. The city has a variety of coffee shops, restaurants, and pubs for socializing and relaxation. Outdoor enthusiasts will find plenty of opportunities for hiking, biking, and other activities in the natural landscapes surrounding the city..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 121891987998

Feedback (9)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Head for the Hills and help us out with house, garden and hobby farm projects near New Denver, Canada
Help us on our family farm located in west central Saskatchewan, Canada