Give practice in English to small children in the village of Kumbalam, Kerala, India

Country

India

Favourited 262 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I was born in the village of Kumbalam, Kerala, India but studied and worked in the US for many years. Upon retiring, it was my dream to return and start a school which promotes a different style of education. I firmly believe that a student does not fully learn by simply reciting information. It is my wish for my students to learn to reach conclusions on their own and be creative to inspire innovation. " My passion is my students; they are safe in my hands". Our motto for 2019-2020", school year.

    We have three schools. The students range from LKG (American equivalent of pre-school) to 10th. They are very bright and ambitious, and we do our best to open doors for them to achieve anything. In our schools, we have a heavy emphasis on English to do just this.

    We are looking for someone to come to our schools and lead classes to teach simple nursery rhymes to the younger students, and guide the older students in proper pronunciation, improve conversational skills, and to build their confidence in speaking. The school year runs June to March and we are happy to host you at any time for any duration.

    During your time, you will be staying on-campus in our hostel at no cost. The hostel is also home to 15-20 of our students. All meals are provided by our on-site cook (vegetarian and non-vegetarian are available), but if there is anything that you require - we will do our best to provide it.

    We have hosted volunteers from Germany, England, America, Australia, and others. Please contact us with any questions or inquiries that you may have.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They meet parents and students and work with them and learn exchange of cultures.

  • Help

    Help

    The volunteer work is primarily a classroom setting and after-school homework help for the students in the hostel. They may help with general maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Malayalam, Hindi

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation provided is a private and basic room and bathroom in the school's hostel.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time, there is a beautiful lake nearby that you would enjoy visiting. Additionally, there are often festivals and holidays that we will go out to celebrate. Everything is in walking distance, but if you need to go further out - I have a car to take you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Negotiable - maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 955487589625