Looking for a volunteer to help with every day life, baby sitting and be part of our family in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    228

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    1 Workawayer needed for April - June - Unfortunately we can not host couples.

    PLEASE ONLY APPLY IF YOU CAN STAY A MINIMUM OF FIVE WEEKS. THANKS!

    Hi we're a family of four: My husband Evan, myself Susie, our 4 year old daughter Ella Luna and baby Amon Ray. I'm German and my husband is Australian. Our daughter is growing up bilingual (German/English). We're an active family and we like to spend our time in the outdoors. Evan and I are passionate surfers, we also like going for bike rides, kayak on the river or go for walks or runs along the river banks.

    We live in a beautiful location just a few meters from the Barwon River in Ocean Grove. The beach is only a 10 min walk away (2 min by bike). The town centre with supermarket, restaurants and shops is also only a 10 min walk from us. The next bigger city is Geelong and easy to reach by bus. Melbourne is about an 1.5 hours from us and you can get there by bus and train if you don't have a car.

    Evan works full-time as a Waste & Litter Education Officer at a city council and I am on maternity leave. We need help with minding our daughter, with running the household so I can spend more time with our baby and work from home. Tasks would be playing with Ella, taking her to Kindergarten or to some activities such as swimming lessons or dancing as well as household chores such as washing, cooking, cleaning or tidying up.



    We like to eat healthy food and good nutrition is really important to us. Evan is vegetarian, but Ella and I do eat meat occasionally. We like gardening and grow some food at our veggie patch in the community garden in town.
    We like to live an environmentally friendly lifestyle and only host people who feel that way too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be part of an easy going family. We live in a truly stunning location so close to the river and beautiful beaches. You will love this place if you love nature and the outdoors. There are great surf beaches, bike and running paths all close by. Ocean Grove and Barwon Heads (which is the little town across the bridge) have lots to offer, however, it is a quiet place, so not very suited for party goers.

  • Help

    Help

    CHILDCARE HELP WANTED in a relaxed family

    We need help with minding our daughter while I work, cook, exercise or spend time with our new baby, which means we need someone with experience in looking after and playing with young children. Ella loves going to the playground, on bike rides or to the beach. She also goes to child care and it would be your job to take her there and/or pick her up. A drivers license and at least 2 years of driving experience are essential.
    It would be great if you speak German so she has someone else to practice her second language with.

    We also need help with cooking, cleaning and keeping the house tidy.

    We like you to be available mainly on week days and we will discuss the tasks on the day before or in the morning. Volunteer hours should be somewhere around 15 - 20 hrs per week. However, you're most welcome to join us when we go somewhere on weekends as part of the family.

    We provide three simple meals a day - you will need to buy your own snacks if you get hungry in between meal times. We do not provide soft drinks or alcohol. We eat a lot of vegetables and fresh food, meat & dairy products occasionally.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a beautiful room with a queen size bed, a table with a chair, a built in wardrobe and your own ensuite bathroom. WiFi is included for normal daily use - no big up or downloads please. You can use our washing machine to do your laundry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At your time off you could go surfing, fishing, bike riding or relaxing at the beach. Geelong is not far away with a shopping mall. We live not far from Torquay and the stunning surf beaches down there, which is a great area to explore. The Great Ocean Road starts just after Torquay and if you have a car you could go on day trips. There are beautiful little towns on the Bellarine Peninsula that are worth exploring, such as Queenscliff and Point Londsdale.
    Having your own car definitely helps to get around. We only provide a car if it's used for your work, such as shopping or picking up Ella from childcare.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 924431975851