Help look after the animals, house and garden near the Grampians in Western Victoria, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 327 times
  • Last activity: 3 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We're a friendly relaxed couple of semi-retired teachers who live on a farm in a beautiful position near the Grampians mountains in Western Victoria. Our farm is leased out, so other people run the sheep farm while we are teaching. We have a large garden, two lively dogs, one lovely cat, plus chooks and guinea fowl, so any volunteers here would need to love animals and not be allergic to them.
    We have three adult children who are here occasionally. We are 10km from the nearest small village and 37km from the closest larger town. Unless you are happy to spend your spare time out here on the farm, a car would be preferable to get around, although we have bikes you are welcome to borrow.
    For this same reason, we usually prefer to have couples so that you have a companion when none of our family are here. We have always enjoyed travel and meeting new people, and are very sociable with family, friends and visitors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will get a taste of farm living in a rural Australian area. They will usually get chances to interact with plenty of friends and family in our small, local community as we generally socialise a lot. They may get the chance to see or be involved in Australian farming practices, watch Australian Rules Footy, see Australian wildlife and experience our style of eating. We are always interested to exchange information with our travellers about where they live and their culture as well as sharing ours.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a large, somewhat chaotic garden and leading up to Spring/Summer there are lots of jobs to be done in it: Digging over, building garden beds, planting, weeding, cutting back, mulching etc might all be likely to be on the list of jobs, along with more general house maintenance jobs and animal care. We also have some recycling/upcycling projects to work on, maybe involving sanding/painting, building garden structures etc. So if you like animals and gardening in a lovely country setting, then this might be a good place for you.
    Another thing is that if you are addicted to internet use, this is probably not the place for you. We have limited amounts of download and have sometimes had it all used up in the first few days of the month by travelers!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers usually sleep in what we call "The Barn", which has its own queen bed, bathroom, kitchen and lounge room. We are happy to cook the evening meals each day in the main house, but usually during the week volunteers prepare their own breakfast and lunch and take responsibility for cleaning up after themselves. We don't allow smoking inside in any part of the house or barn. Our pets are considered special family members, and come into the house with us when we are home (not the chooks and guinea fowl!), so it will be important that any volunteers are comfortable with animals and treat them well at all times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to the Grampians, which is perfect for accessing by car or pushbike (if you're a keen rider), for bushwalking, sightseeing, birdwatching etc. It is also an easy day trip to several great beaches. Our farm is large, beautiful and peaceful, perfect for long walks, bike rides or swimming in dams.
    We are also very involved in the local community, the golf club, the school, the pub, and the football/netball club, so there are often events on related to these. Volunteers would be welcome to join in with any of these activities if they wish to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 467954412759

Feedback (12)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come help us establish our Ayurvedic rainforest retreat near Bellingen, Australia!!
Help on our hobby farm and enjoy good food and cultural exchange in Armidale, Australia