2-br house in exchange for help with DIY in a small village in the interior of Portugal

  • Favourited 6 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are Americans living in the south of Portugal. I've just bought a property in the interior of the country (about 4 hours from where we currently live) that needs some minor work. The house is a furnished small village house in an old but beautiful, typical, small Portuguese village. Because of the distance from where we live now, it's a challenge to find tradespeople to work on it. The Alentejo area is close to the border with Spain and full of things to do, river beaches, castles, and other villages to explore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity to go off-the-beaten path in a beautiful area of Portugal.

    There are MANY houses currently under renovation in my village. This would be a great opportunity for someone with the right skills to make local connections if you are also looking for paying work as well. I'm willing to offer an extended stay (past the project completion) in return for efficient work and quality workmanship.

  • Help


    I would love to find someone who can patch cracked plaster walls and paint. It would be nice if they could also treat for efflorescence. It would be nice if they could do some minor exterior repairs like caulking around the base of the house. Plumbing help would be handy if you can fix a leaking water heater. If you have experience with these things please let me know about it in your message.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying on your own in the 2-story, 2 bedroom house with private bathroom and kitchen. It is furnished and has a washing machine. You will be responsible for your own food. You will need to provide your own transportation. I have a mobile wifi device that you can use if you don't have one, you can purchase prepaid internet service from vodafone. Sorry, we are unable to host smokers. The house has relatively steep stairs so not recommended for very young children or those with mobility issues.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I also may hire some professionals to do work such as electrical and roofing, I would expect you to help me coordinate with them, to let them in the house and oversee their work, and report to me any issues.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Broadband internet but works at high speeds - for 50 euros you can buy a vodafone hotspot device with sim card that works for 30 days. I've tested the speed inside the house and it is surprisingly fast.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved pets welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10-20 hrs/week

Host ref number: 916926612329



Join our family life with Permaculture gardening and DIY house renovations in rural Central Portugal
Join our family committed to creativity, nature, and self-sufficiency in Marmelete, Portugal