DIY, gardening and animal/pet help in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Skyvalley is on the mid north coast, about an hour from Port Macquarie. I had a small permaculture farm. We were extensively burnt in last years fires. I am rebuilding, replanting, refencing and Im looking for help.
    The property is stunning 400 acres surrounded by state forest. Half is still forest. There is a permanent creek and plenty of rainforest and wild life. I have horses dogs and poultry. Its quite secluded the nearest town is Wauchope 40mins.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    i guess the thing I can offer is how to do anything with limited resources. Natural building skills. Forestry. Gardening. Its hands on lateral and challenging. But its also swimming in the creek hanging out and relaxing. I try to mix it up. If you like horses and dogs....

  • Help

    Help

    I keep my days varied. Current projects. A natural build cob communal area. Regeneration work, mostly weeding, fencing, restablshing gardens. Horse care and occasional dog sitting. If you can drive any machinery there is earthworks and I could do with some mechanical expertise :)
    Mostly the work is unskilled and a willing attitude is all thats required. I have so much to do I think there is something to fit whatever interests people bring. Im happy if you just want to take a bit of the domestic load.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    8x5m tiny house. It has a kitchen toilet. I havent rebuilt the bathroom but there are fire baths everywhere. You are welcom to cook your own food. I will supply meals if that is prefered.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of nature out here. Port Macquarie has beaches. Both Port and Wauchope have the usual bars and cafes. Best op shops ever. Im happy for you to ride the horses and enjoy the property.
    I have a fairly relaxed pace so I mix up my day between working and swimming. I dont have any timetables or expectations around hours. I tend to work seasonally so this time of year is mornings and evenings I am an artist but I havent got back into that post fire. Its been a long haul.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    The equivilent of 3 hours per day 5 days per week


Host ref number: 631385389839