Help with natural building at a new healing farm community project in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a new co-living project in Portugal in the Serra de São Mamede Natural Park.
    We are looking for people who want to help develop the place and possibly join the community!

    I am Hari, 32, from the UK and I’ve been living in Portugal since March 2018.
    I have been exploring eco-village living and the community building process and I believe it is key to a life of freedom and happiness!

    The land is four hectares with a young food forest and a house that needs a new roof.
    I live in a yurt with simple comforts and I am exploring low-impact ways of building and living.

    My intention for the project is to live with others who want to form an intentional community based on permaculture and healing and own the land as a cooperative.
    The vision is to build the place as an example of low-impact living, with a culture of sharing healing practices, eventually running events, workshops, gatherings and low-cost retreats.

    I have experience in community building using tools from sociocracy in a light, joyful way of organising, and I wish to cultivate the principles of authenticity, radical honesty, immediacy and character work, as inspired by the Burn community and Tamera.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a unique opportunity to be part of the community building process from the beginning of the project and add your touch to the project. We invite any creative projects if you want to make a big painting or create some sculpture on the land or build a shrine or small temple space.

    There will be a lot to learn about intentional community and low-impact living, for those interested. I have several years of experience founding and developing a social housing cooperative and a cohousing project in the UK. I have also volunteered for many projects including eco-villages, permaculture farms, spiritual communities and events and gatherings.
    You can learn from living it and joining in the structures and culture of the project.

    It is also an opportunity for people to create a base to live and focus on a healing practice, having free time and a supportive space and people around.

  • Help

    Help

    This Summer we would like some help building a new compost toilet with natural building methods - harvesting poles from local trees and building with a mix of cob methods and rammed clay slip straw methods.
    We would also like some help with gardening. There is a young food forest garden with fruit trees and vegetables that needs care.
    Later we will build a common kitchen that is suitable for the winter.

    Other than that, we want people who will help create a nice vibe as an impermanent co-living group with a balance of working and playing, living from the heart with peace, grace, love and fun!

    I welcome anyone who can share practices that they are growing from. For example, if someone can guide some yoga sessions or offer some energy healing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are looking for people who are happy staying in a tent or bringing a campervan. There are shaded places for tents and some flat parking for campervans.
    Either bring your own tent and bedding, or we have some you can use, but check with us first.
    There is a simple compost toilet and shower, with plans to improve these this Summer.

    We are looking for people who can source their own food and drinking water and are happy cooking in their own kitchen or in a simple shared outdoor kitchen for the summer, until the common kitchen is built. The common kitchen is vegan food only.
    There is a weekly market and some small shops in the local village which you can walk to in 10 minutes. Drinking water is collected from a public spring 500m from the land on the way to the village.

    The work exchange is therefore between 7 and 9 hours of work per week.
    This will usually be 3 days of around 2-3 hour working sessions per week.
    So this is suitable for people who are happy doing their own thing the rest of the time. I imagine we can do some other things together like playing music, healing practices, going swimming in the lake.

    On the three work days, it can be nice to eat lunch together, either sharing the cooking or doing ‘bring a dish’ style. Other meals in the week are flexible whether we eat together or independently, depending on the group.

    We ask please not for people who regularly consume tobacco or alcohol or thc cannabis or other intoxicants.
    If you do but want to change this pattern and are ready to committ to work on the underlying healing, let's talk about it.
    This can even apply for sugar and coffee.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are beautiful surroundings as we are in the natural park, so if you have a car there is a lot to explore. I have use of a neighbours car so we can go for days out.
    We are close to a big reservoir lake, about a 10 minute drive, and there is a river closer, about a 15 minute walk.
    There are social events that we go to often, for example a weekly wavedance session and an alternative market with a shared lunch most Saturdays.
    The lake is very popular in the summer with lots of travellers around, but also some secluded spots if you go to the other side.
    There are the impressive castles of Marvão and Castelo de Vide and the São Mamede mountains with a population of eagles and incredible views.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, 3 days a week

The beautiful spring flowers amongst our olive trees
The river close by, 15 minutes walking
The terrain on the way to the river
The village centre
Satisfaction after setting up my yurt
Neighbouring cork oak woodlands
One of the neighbour families
Rammed slip straw and clay plaster methods
Collecting poles to build a dome
Our community market
The lake close by, 10 minutes driving
Host ref number: 721666267489