Help build a beautiful and sustainable place next to the sea in St Jacut de la mer, France



Favourited 76 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am musician and engineer, 37yo, I was given a bit of land 6 years ago, i am happy to host anyone with some skills or motivation to help turning the land in a beautifull/sustainable place: planting trees/veg , natural constructions, permaculture designs etc. In winter or when there is heavy rain I have some work on video/music projects and i am happy to have some help as well, but you can also read books (I have lots) or do your yoga :) ! I have a little boy 3yo which is here one day or two every week.

    Nice area, close to the sea/beach, you can cycle (two bikes here), do some very nice walks (islands, castle, wild river... ), also it is perfect place to meditate, make yoga etc :)

    (see also my helpx profile for more photos/details/recommendations )

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can enjoy helping a permaculture place by the sea. There is sometimes strong wind, but less frost, and abundance of shells and sea weeds (which can be a good mulch!) Sometimes we can go to concerts or local festivals, events with traditional breton music. I am also doing music/videos projects and happy to involve people in the creative process. You can meet my son and learn french with him :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    There are many things we can do, some things i need to do anyway, some other things you can choose what you would like to do most. Artists are welcom as well to create some art here and leave their footprint in the place somehow ;)

    Things to do over the next year:
    - seeding:planting/mulching trees / veggies
    - wood/hay cutting/harvesting
    - pond & pumping system
    - Finish a Tadelakt shower
    - furnitures with recycled wood/furnitures
    - secure system to circulate hot water and connect various natural DIY heaters with a tank
    - Solar still
    - Outdoor shower
    - finish a water phyto-purification system
    - Make music videos

    Also it is nice to share the 'routine work': cooking/cleaning/babysitting (i have a little boy!)

    I dont ask much work, but i need people who take care of things if possible proactive and finishing what they start :-) Mainly it is about sharing knowledge, skills, motivation, learn together!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I can host you in a caravan, or a van, or a tent, or put a matress on the floor in the house, or you can bring your own van/tent. (Depending what you prefer / how many people are there). Tell me before if you need blankets :)

    I dont have hot water yet, usually we clean everything in small basin (clothes, dishes, oursleves) you can also use a pipe with cold water to have a shower in the garden when its warm. There are two dry toilets (one with roof, one without).

    Dont expect confort.. here is wild place.. only 1million stars ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If possible we try to do average a half day work; so you can have some time to visit and do your own things if you want!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    No wi-fi here, but I have internet on my phone, which is enough for most of my work, including sending big music/video files from time to time ;) There are few spaces where you can work: a desk in the caravan, table in my house etc

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    big ones will get troubles to get through without scratching the paint ! (but we can do a day of cutting for that ;)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Not all pets ... pets are ok if they don't hunt dears, kittens, and don't destroy the garden ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours / 5 days

Host ref number: 499839252667