Helping with garden work and animal care, building a wooden house and also help us to build up a little community Alentejo/Algarve



Favourited 969 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Our property/house is in the Alentejo,on the border to the Algarve, near the coast.
    We are Gabi and Jo, a german couple, I am a veterinarian and animal protector, my partner is an artist, schamane and a professional autodidact and photographer.
    We are living in a big house, made from wood and clay ,we make oecological gardening and composting and we are building a new house for a member of our new community.
    Our place is in the middle of the nature, a very quiet place, with wild animals as frogs, birds, foxes and wild pigs around. We live in an oecological way, using only natural products and no chemical stuff.
    We are living here with 6 dogs, 5 cats, a Kakadoo and 12 chicken, 2 horses from Island and 1 donkeys.
    The ocean is not so far away to go there for relaxing on the beach or to go for activities like surfing. We can offer a bicycle.
    The mountains are good for walking in the middle of nowhere.
    We have a small and a bigger village about 5-10 km away from our house and some bigger cities around 30 km away.
    We like to have here people living close together with us as members of the family, as friends, in an apartment with own bathroom.

    Hakuna Matata

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn here all types of handicraft, building, blastering, woodwork, gardenwork, treating of animals, living in nature and taking care of it, shamanism.
    We are also interessted in people they want to stay and build up a little community with us.

  • Help


    - gardening
    - helping building the house
    - taking care of the animals
    - art projects
    - help building a new mobile home

    - beside the normal workaway helpers, we are looking for some people who wants to join our little community and want to live here on our land with us for good

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are living in the middle of the nature, not far away from the ocean. In the moment we are building up a house.
    We have a oecological garden, we have to cultivate more land and plant some more trees. We make a special compost and we try to do the garden in permaculture.
    We offer an apartment with own bathroom and a big comfortable mobile home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You help 5 days per week (5 hrs a day)
    We are looking for people who wants to stay with us minimum 4 weeks.
    We are looking for people they want to stay for a longer term and also people who want to stay for good to build up a little community.

    We are living in a wonderful energetic place.
    We have dinner together and make together every evening our working plan for the next day.
    I cook every day a vegetarian or vegan meal, most of the days as dinner, sometimes we eat also fish. We are not vegan!!
    The breakfeast you do by your own, you will find chees, Jam, honey, milk or sojamilk, joghurt, bread, butter, muesli and fruits, coffe and tea.
    During the day we eat bread with cheese, or vegan cream, tofu etc. and fruits and the left over from dinner.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day / 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 4498374614df