1 / 3

Would be great to have your help here in the countryside (8 k from the beach)

  • Spain
  • Favourited 640 times
  • Last activity: 30/01/2022




  • Description


    Hi my name is Chris and my partner is Joanna.

    We live in the countryside about 4 miles from the beautiful town of Vejer de la Frontera and the same distance from some great beaches. ( We have two grown up children who occasionally visit )

    I have been a teacher, truck driver and qualified as a plumber, and Joanna been a teacher, translator and led various courses and written a book.

    We are both into personal development (Buddhism and Shamanism and more recently Chris has been involved in Gestalt therapy),sustainable living, permaculture, growing veg and enjoying life. I play the guitar and recently joined a group singing Kirtan (Mantras). I go jogging and go walking most weekends unless it is the summer, then it is the beach yeah yeah!

    We enjoy good food ;-] having fun and working in the garden as much as we can. We are mostly vegetarian but we would be more than happy to adapt to any vegan or raw food volunteers.

    Please look at the dates that we are available before sending an email also please include when you are wanting to visit.

    We have a reliable internet service.

    Looking forward to hearing from you all.

    Chris and Jo

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think travelers will learn from a cultural exchange in direct proportion to the degree of openess and interest they hold during their experience.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    There always seems to be painting work that needs doing, and apart from summer, the garden always needs love and attention. We have a couple of permaculture and natural building projects ongoing, so help with that might be useful. If you love cleaning, or rendering, or painting, or sewing, or making mosaics, or woodwork, or graphic design, or... there's always the opportunity to get deeply into a project and move it along. We are also aware that volunteers bring with them their own skills so we are happy to hear your suggestions about what you can offer too.

    We are really keen on volunteers having one of the following skills, gardening ,painting cooking or woodworking. There are quite a few easier projects like repairing wooden chairs and building shelves in the little workshop but depending on your skills there are cupboards inside the house and a patio covering. Though we generally ask volunteers to be able to cook visit we are more than keen for anybody with woodworking skills to pass on the cooking if they wish!

    Volunteers take turns with the usual household tasks, along with us, but usually once a week we ask them to help with a bigger housework job.It helps us a lot if volunteers can cook so please let us know if you cant when apply.

    We always try to give volunteers options on what to do but jobs inevitably vary depending on time of year and weather conditions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a spare bedroom in the house and sometimes the independent studio is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We really enjoy having volunteers staying at the house. We recently worked out we have had over 150 staying over the years.

    We live in a house surrounded by just over 5,000 square metres of land. We are a kilometre from the natural park and 8k from beautiful sandy beaches. The nearest town, Vejer de la Frontera, is 5k away. We usually go there most days. We also now have a fairly good mountain bike that volunteers can use.

    Look forward to all replies Chris and Jo

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

Host ref number: 9134684844c4

Feedback (18)