Join our family and learn about sewing in BC, Canada



Favourited 241 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a family of 3, with a 6 y.o. and cat living in the small town of Riondel. About 50km from Nelson and Creston. We have a web design business, studio ponnuki, and a sewing/silk screening business, Random Style. We live right on the beautiful Kootenay lake and are looking for someone responsible and independent to play and care for our 6 y.o. who can cook, do some gardening and any sewing skill will be greatly appreciated. Some of the task could also be ironing, cutting fabric with a pattern, may be involve in the design process and some silk screening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The diversity of the lake life and live in nature. Many tourist come her for the campground, nature, golf...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Depending on your skill y work will be very different, but it will involve, hanging out with our daughter. Cleaning the house, work related to the garden, preserving food, cooking. Doing various task related to sewing and silk screening - like ironing cutting fabric, designing, hand sewing, machine sewing if know how to sew all ready.

    This is our home-business area so it is very organic. There is not much of a set schedule I teach yoga once a week and sometime offer massage but it is always out-side the house, that the time I will need child care for sure. Once the different project are explain, we will like some one who has autonomy and can manage itself.

    We like to received someone who is respectful of our house and way of doing things, that have a good judgement and know when it is time to act, ask or listen...

    We will offer a respectful, peaceful environment with the proper tool to work. We can do pick-up to the ferry, accommodation, 3 meals a day most of them vegetarian but we do occasionally eat meat.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We do have a summer room with a double bed on top of house, with a roof and 3 walls (see picture). There is a tipi down at the beach but will need to be set up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in front of Kootenay Lake, 1 hour from Nelson and Creston. There is a small village 15-20 min. walk from the house. There is a bike available for used. We are 15 min car from Yasodhara Ashram. Ainsworth Hot Spring are about 1hour car, nice hike in the area.

    Here are some link

    This is the 2nd closes village, we go many times a way in that area, it is a 15-20 min. drive:
    Things to do in the area
    Things to do in Nelson, (that's where we do our grocerie shopping, about 1h drive) from our house

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 898795866298