Help with projects around the house and come visit the Virgin Islands

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

updated  

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello all! I am 35 and recently disabled from a crippling disease Ankylosing Spondylitis. I moved to the Virgin Islands in hopes to better my health with year round sunshine and aquatic therapy. I worked for the Airlines for 10 years and was able to travel all over, during that time I fell in love with the Caribbean. I bought my first house when I was 20 in Washington and started learning construction, plumbing, electrical, and so on. Since then I’ve fixed up and sold that house and another in Oregon.
    The house I bought here in St Croix is also a “fixer upper” as are most of the places here since the hurricanes. Unfortunately I just can’t do what I use to be able too and am looking for help. The house is located just two blocks from the beach and a nice resort/restaurant. We are also close to town, the bus line, and stores. St Croix is the largest of the US Virgin Islands and a wonderful place. There’s always something to do or beaches to explore! I really love it here but I haven’t improved as much as I’d hoped. I need help so I can enjoy things and concentrate on my health.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My place would be wonderful for that traveler who wants the feel of Island life. It’s a great location to be able to walk to the beach everyday and get a feel of what it’s really like to live in the Caribbean. I’d also be happy to pass on any basic skills and knowledge I’ve learned over the years.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help unloading my items from my shipping container and heavy lifting. The house was vacant for a long time before I bought it. So it has many little projects such as cleaning and fixing/replacing broken things. It needs painted inside and out where the windows have been replaced. Outside will need a complete paint job. As well as a bunch of yard work and care of existing fruit trees. The fence needs fixed where the top rails are missing or where trees fell on it.
    I have a bunch of outdoor entertainment things I need help setting up. A big above ground pool, gazebo, picnic benches, hammocks, fire pit, and more!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has two guest bedrooms both with queen beds. You would have your own bedroom and bathroom that is shared if there is another guest or traveling as a group. All basic household things (linens, towels, soap, shampoo/conditioner, bug spray, sunscreen, etc) are provided. I also have a bike that can be fixed up to use, snorkel gear, coolers, and other things you might want/need to enjoy the island.
    However food is expensive here on the Island and unfortunately my income is limited. So for 15hrs of work or less a week food is not provided but over 15hrs some meals are provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here’s a good site to look up info about St Croix.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week (no food provided) If helping over 15 hours, will receive three meals a day

Fence missing top pole.
Trees grown and growing into the fence that need cut back.
All rooms need painted around windows and touch up in areas.
Covered back porch hangout area.
Beach that is about 2 blocks away

Host ref number: 897575246495