Join us in Nebraska's great plains for eco projects, aquaponics and organic food, USA.


United States

Favourited 108 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family that lives and works in the Great Plains region of the United States. The community in which we live is small with around 24,000 people. Industry here is cattle ranching and railroad. This community was also the home of Buffalo Bill and there is much history related to the settling of the Wild West.

    Our family consists of 4 kids (only two remaining at home), a small flock of chickens, quail, rabbits, and some yellow perch in our aquaponics system. The two youngest children still live at home. We have a large intensive garden, an outdoor three bed aquaponics system (flood and drain) and a variety of fruiting trees and shrubs. We have a good size annual garden as well as a variety of perennial permaculture systems in place. The chinese style aquaponics greenhouse is under construction. It has radiant floor heat, the outside walls, base coat of stucco is on, Most of the electric is roughed in and roof is on. We will be moving on to building the troughs, electric, plumbing and cladding the outside walls and finishing the inside walls.

    The weeks that it is comfortable we are outside. In some winter weeks we work inside on different things. We also would love to have help cooking and with daily household chores.

    Allison, the lady of the house is a teacher, my name is Tim and I am an artist, author and teacher. We look forward to meeting many people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had aquaponics for several years. The aquaponics greenhouse is a hands on project. We will build the toughs, set up the manifold for the radiant floor heat and plumb all of the water lines. When finished one will have a good working understanding of aquaponics. We also have a fill and drain system out side. Another area we could spend some time is in cladding the outside of the greenhouse or various walls on the property. We will be carving concrete to make it look like rock.

  • Help


    We have a number of projects we are working on as well as ongoing yard and garden work. In spring of 2017 we will be working on the solar greenhouse for another aquaponics system. We also are interested in learning about new recipes for organic and raw foods. We are trying to find more ways to be more self sufficient and to eat a more diverse and healthy diet.

    We have a number of construction projects coming up as well. New raised beds will be added to another area of the yard. More permaculture projects will be added such as water catchment for the chicken coup. The bees will be relocated to a different spot near the chicken coup and there is always fencing and planting of some sort to be done. We also have earthbag wall construction, roofing on the garden shed, that needs to be done, a guest house to do finish work on and a host of other fun eco friendly projects.

    Current priorities are the guest house and the greenhouse.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Currently we have a few different opportunities for accommodation. We have a spare bedroom in our main house. The small home next door is not complete enough for guests at the moment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a variety of historical sites to visit locally. A heritage museum and Buffalo Bills ranch are within 1/2 mile of our property. There is an avid cycling club, a lake on the south side of town and the river at the edge of town. A locally owned book store has a very active open mic night and there are various other activities to enjoy the arts. This is typical small town great plains living and may not be a good fit for someone who wants the jet setting, mega party city life. There are no night clubs here and the night life is pretty mild and plain, many young people might say boring. We rest, we work, we play.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Five hours daily, M-F. Hours can be flexible as coolest time in summer is 7am to noon, and warmest in winter is afternoons.

Host ref number: 867262252272