Come and help us in the hills of Andalucia, Granada.

Country

Spain

Favourited 348 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola! Bonjour, Czesc, Hi ...Halo!

    We fall in love with this subtropical Valley almost 17 years ago, coming back from the Carabean, crossing on sailing boats where we used to work.

    We are a polish-french family (Piotr is 50 years old, Alexandra 48), with 3 children aged 13, 15 and 16 (who enjoy very much playing with volunteers! ).
    We speak french, polish, spanish , german and english.

    We are in the nature, in the province of Granada (Andalucia), on the hills of the Costa Tropical, 12km from the coastal town of Almuñecar and 2, 5 km from the village of Jete.

    We have half an hectar of organic orchards : avocadoes, mangoes, oranges, mandarines, lemons, chirimoyas, goyavas, papayas etc...and many almonds trees.
    So, we have often work around them, weeding, pruning, giving them fertilizer, etc...

    We built our house with a lot of recycling, it's a green roof bioclimatic comfortable mountain retreat : ideal place to spend wonderful time , to take a rest, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, to enjoy the swimming pool with the view on the tropical valley.
    We have always various maintenance works with the buildings (paint, repairs...)

    We have a small vegetable garden, (not always in production), depending on the free time we have...), a few chicken for fresh eggs and cats for the pleasure...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending of the wishes of the travellers,,,many possibilities!

    Exchange of teaching languages each other,

    We live quite isolated in the hills, you can enjoy the tranquility, and the views on the mountains, on the avocadoes, mangoes orchards all around.
    Nice place for trekking, but also for playing music : guitar, accordeon, trumpet, ukelele...and relax under the sun.

    2 km down, the tipical white andalucian village of Jete, with its 3 bars where learning spanish is always fun with the locals.
    The beaches are reachable in 2 and a half hours walking through the mounatins, or with bus from Jete (15 minutes)

    We used to live on sailingboats during many years, in Mediterrean, and Caraibes before coming to Spain. Still have a boat and love to sail when we have some free time. We enjoy as well to kayak on the sea.

    We are happy to share our experiences and cultures with you,

    Waiting for you!

  • Help

    Help

    Hola!

    Who is available, from the 9th of november and for 1or2 weeks?
    We would be happy if you could give us a hand with our projects on the farm.
    Couple or couple of friends welcome.

    We will need help on our land: mainly weeding, chicken care, irrigation of the tropical trees, some painting and other maintenance works. Work on the construction of stone stairs, planting trees.
    We need some help also on our wordpress website ,FB, instagram...


    We look forward to meeting you!

    Don't hesitate to contact us
    Welcome to our beautiful place on the hills of the Valle Tropical !( Almuñecar,Granada)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation in the guesthouse and in caravans.
    Internet conexion , as long as you travell with your own computer.
    We eat mostly fruits and vegetables, and some dishes from all over the world. We prepare the meals together or each in turn. If you are more like meat eaters, no problem, just tell it to us so that we will provide the necessary...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are quite isolated (no neighbours), on the hills covered of sub tropical orchards. To walk down to the village, we need half an hour.
    Therefrom there are only a few buses to the costal town of Almuñecar , from monday to friday, at 8:00 and 16:30, and one going to Granada at 7;30. To come back to jete, 2 buses in Almuñecar: 14:00 and 21:00, and the one from Granada at 17:30.
    Coming from Malaga, many buses all the day.

    Arrival: From Sept to June, for us, the best is to pick you up from Jete at 14:30, when children go out from school. In summer time, we can also pick you up from Almuñecar.

    During your free time, enjoy the sea, the mountains, the sun...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day












Host ref number: 865782133588