Small urban farm, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Country

United States

Favourited 257 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired teacher living with my German Shepherd, Aisha, in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I live 5 minutes from the center of town. Santa Fe is a cultural hub of art, music, museums, and restaurants. We have a rich history of Native American, Spanish and Anglo cultures. My home is in the foothills of the Santa Fe National Forest, convenient for hiking, biking and skiing. My daughter and her 3 year old son live next door to me. My property is an urban farm environment with chicken, bees, garden and fruit trees.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My native language is English but I am also fluent in Spanish. Volunteers can practice English and learn about the tricultural history in the area. Nearby are Native American pueblos and Spanish colonial settlements. Santa Fe offers ideal environment for hiking, biking, skiing.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with outdoor projects which may include; laying flagstone, gardening, painting, Or indoor projects such as cleaning and organizing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm fairly fluent in spanish, but always love to converse and improve.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have their own bedroom and bathroom in my home. I eat a well rounded diet including meat, dairy, fruit and vegetables. Smoking is not allowed inside. There is wifi available but no television. I live 5 minutes from the city recreation center which has a gym and pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    City buses are available within a 15 minute walk. There is a bicycle that volunteers may use. All city sites of interest are within walking distance or reachable by public transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have room for a modest size campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 163463197299