Help on a family ranch in the Rockies, Canada



Favourited 651 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Looking for a helper or two to help with jobs around our ranch this spring taking care of our family animals, dogs, cats and horses., and lots of outside help. Firewood, . We take people for a minimum of two weeks, include feeding and caring for horses, building fences, making trails, and general ranch help. They are physical tasks outside. CARPENTRY, landscaping experience would be helpful. There is also some inside help needed, such as cleaning, painting, etc. We are in a beautiful place and only 1 hr from Jasper.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will experience rural, ranch living, and learn how we take care of our animals and live. They will get very good at living off the land, because we grow, or hunt for our own meat, produce our own vegetables, and collect our own firewood for heat. They will learn what it is to live without the grocery store.

  • Help


    Our ranch is in a beautiful area with hiking, biking, kayaking close by. Ranch is 20 minutes from the nearest town.

    Should be willing and able to do hard physical tasks.

    No drinking of alchohol, or smoking. Atmosphere with strong family values.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Bunk house, or camper trailer, Outhouse, Shower and laundry facilities available. In the winter there is a basement suite with kitchen and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of outdoor recreation available in surrounding area such as skiing and snow shoeing. Also, those interested in helping with horses may find it a place to use and add to their horsemanship. Limited transportation available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 855194496853