updated   Last minute

Multi-generational family, home facing the serra da Estrela, Portugal

  • Favourited 163 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ***Currently seeking someone interested in staying during summer holidays to help with garden/house chores and general maintenance, as well as some babysitting***


    Me (Leah) and my 5yr old son Oscar are keen to start hosting again after taking a little pause.

    My mum Rachel (Oscars grandma) is the owner of the property where we live and she lives here most of the time but she may be away travelling on and off.

    The house is surrounded by a beautiful view of the mountains and a pretty garden with an olive grove in front. On the edge of the village but feeling a little secluded. Very close to the cute little mountain town of Seia.

    I work 2/3 days per week on a farm where there is a food forest project and a cob house under construction.
    This is really fascinating and inspiring work to get involved with, there could be opportunities to get involved there. I am also taking care of a house and garden next door to there.

    I am saving to buy some land and start from scratch myself with some interesting land based projects in mind.

    A bit about us -
    I am passionate about real food and soil, love animals and working with nature, keen to be part of reforesting our local area with native species. Rewilding feels important to me and everywhere I have been so far I have created amazing habitats for wildlife to return, I have enjoyed seeing bare and barren farm land transform into a safe haven for the many different species of birds and insects come and thrive, along with growing super healthy food to forage.

    Over the years I have created growing spaces based on the ideas of synergistic gardening among other designs using Permaculture principles in setting up systems. I have been in Portugal for 6 years and have previously worked as a gardener and a farmer in the UK.
    I am a kind, humble and motivated person who is happy working together with others and sharing meals and playing games. I love taking hikes and being in nature, foraging and picnics by the lake in the mountains to name a few.

    I have spent a lot of energy working on my self over the last few years especially since becoming a mother.
    I have a much better understanding of the connectedness of everything and I do enjoy discussing these things sometimes and learning from others along the way.
    I also appreciate alone time when I need it.
    Communication and connection is important so I value those who can be open and honest.
    I enjoy welcoming people to our home and sharing whatever I have to offer at the time, those who have spent time with us usually leave feeling like family.

    Oscar my son loves to be involved and likes to play and have fun, campfires and board games too, he goes to a montissori/forest school project 3 days a week. When he feels safe and connected he is a super loving, helpful and funny character.

    Rachel is a welcoming and friendly person who is happy to share her home with us and others, she has also travelled and has a lot of life experience to share.

    There are often social activities to be involved with locally. Nearly every weekend there is are artisan markets with live music near by and really fun community events and work days to get involved with. We have friends and neighbours near by, a good mix of people from all over the world. I am 38 and my mum 60 but we welcome people of all ages and backgrounds.

    We also have Indi a very sweet and quiet dog who is a real character.

    The accommodation is in a wood cabin with en suite bathroom so you can have your own space and small kitchenette but meals will mostly be shared in the main house.

    Check out the photos at the bottom of this page to get a feel of what its like here and we have some photos of trips out that we regularly do such as Tabua market and mountains, lakes and river.

    We eat all types of food and love to taste foods from around the world, you need to be ok with the fact that we eat meat (which we try to source as ethically and locally as possible) so if you are vegetarian then sometimes you may have to cook a separate meal or just not eat the meat part of the meal, we always have plenty of veggies in our cooking and often eat vegetarian meals too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer you experience in sustainable ways of growing food, knowledge of soil and plant health, cooking tasty meals with fresh seasonal produce, preserving and fermenting, visiting beautiful places and being part of the local community, tasting Portuguese life authentically and meeting people from all over the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    On top of the tasks I also expect guests to take on their fair share of tasks such as cooking and domestic duties. I expect guests to be clean, tidy and mindful of others space.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cabin and main house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visit local markets, see the mountains, rivers beaches, go walking and explore a beautiful area. Near by towns are Seia, Oliveira do hospital and Tabua. There is a bus from the village but I can offer lifts when we are going into town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 h /week

Host ref number: 854378873682

Feedback (13)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Help us with our kitchen, chicken-clay house or be with donkeys in the Algarve, Portugal
Rebuild burned dreamland and create a mudhouse in South Alentejo, Portugal