Help with my 2 year old son in London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 223 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    My name is Clare. I'm looking for immediate help with my son, the house, cooking and walking the dog - a very easy and loyal King Charles Spaniel.

    Sebastian is half Spanish. I would like him to grow bi-lingual and so would prefer a native Spanish speaker if possible, although we can discuss this.

    I’m a Scottish-Spanish creative director and designer. After 20 years in London I renovated a house in Tarifa, Andalucía and lived between there and London. Since lockdown, however, we have been living in the UK. In Clapham, a wonderful location in Zone 2 London, overlooking the park. We will go to the Highlands of Scotland for Christmas and New Year and would love for you to join us.

    I anticipate 5 hours, 5 days per week, mainly during the mornings, although this may sometimes change. There is also an option to do additional hours paid.

    I will provide ingredients for you to prepare your breakfast and lunch. If you like to cook, it would be great if you could prepare things we can all eat. Time permitting, I do big pots, which you are welcome to share also. I may not be able to sit down for all mealtimes as I work around Seb's timings. I eat most things, but for the most part, prefer a relatively healthy diet.

    I can introduce you to lots of people and places in London, if interested.

    Ideally, you will be:

    *️️️️️️️️️ Someone who likes and has experience with toddlers. And dogs. I'm told by many that both Seb and Dolly (dog) are super easy :)
    *️️️️️️️️️ I keep my home SUPER clean, tidy and organised and would expect the same of anyone sharing the space.
    *️️️️️️️️️ No smokers or party people, please.

    * RELIABLE:
    I am a single parent with no family or support nearby so Seb and I rely very much on whoever joins us.

    Seb gets attached easily and doesn't understand when people leave. I would prefer someone who stays for a minimum of 2 months. Although the work is fairly easy, it takes a couple of weeks to get into the swing.

    Similarly, I would ask 2 weeks notice if you choose to leave, and would offer the same to you.

    I feel it is important to be clear from the offset: this is not a lazy holiday. In light of our situation, we need a professional person who is passionate about a any project they take on.

    In return, this can be a lovely exchange, allowing you lots of flexibility, an excellent location, time outdoors (still allowed during lockdown), a very happy, curious little child , the possibility to travel with us and hopefully, the opportunity to earn a little on top.

    I'm sorry, I get a LOT of applications, possibly due to our location; if you do not tick the above, please do not email. I hate to send pre-set Workaway decline messages but I will have no choice. I hope you understand.

    Thank you for taking the time to read my very lengthy (!!) description. My sincerest apologies for all the rules, I feel it's better for everyone to be clear from the offset, hopefully you agree :)

    Clare

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live between London and Andalucia, both of which are culturally rich. I also visit my homeland of Scotland and you are welcome to join us.

    Clapham Junction is in Zone 2, London and super easy for exploring the rest of the city. It's a very nice and safe part of London with parks, restaurants, cafes and shops. Super popular, I love it here.

    About Tarifa:
    A sangria spit from Morocco (13km!), where both oceans and continents meet, Tarifa is a very special place. Famous for kite and wind surfing, along with it’s beautiful white washed Andalusian town, incredible beaches and restaurants, yoga and shopping, Tarifa has something for everyone. As such, it seems to be the height of fashion year after year.

    Tangier is 1 hour away by boat; foodie mecca, Vejer 58km; Malaga 1.5 hrs away; Cadiz 45 mins away; Ronda a day trip and Granada a wonderful place to visit in a weekend. Even Portugal is only 3 hours away. There is a huge amount to see and do here.

    I’m very happy to help you with travel options on your days off.

  • Help

    Help

    Interacting and playing with Sebastian, hopefully stimulating his brain. Taking him (and the dog) to the park.
    Cleaning, cooking and household tasks.
    Generally being a second pair of hands / playmate for Seb while I work from home.
    You will mainly be in the park / outside as Seb loves to be in fresh air. Thankfully this is still permitted during lockdown!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a nice two bedroom, 2 bathroom home 1 minute from Clapham Common and between Clapham Junction, Clapham Common tube.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's London, the list is endless!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent wifi connection. Zone 2 London location. Own bedroom to work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have off street parking so this is a possibility, please contact me to discuss.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 838454143446