Come and enjoy being a part of our kind community in Dalarna, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 81 times
  • Last activity: 09/01/2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Just looking for a workawayer who can come NOW IN FEBRUARY!

    Our family consists of Eli and Vitek and our two children Filip (8 years) and Luna (2 years). In 2020, we finally dared to fulfill our dreams and bought an old house in Kloster - a small picturesque village in the middle of Sweden about 150 km northwest of Stockholm - and the most beautiful place in Dalarnas countryside. We are a part of a nice community consisting of many creative and open minded people.

    We are designing and creating our garden for growing food, striving for self sufficiency. We are now learning about vinter gardening and how to be self sufficient in north. We have 10 chickens, a cat and bees. Our village has a community feeling there neighbours help each other and make things together.

    Here you can enjoy a forest on a one side of the village and a burbling pond on the other. There you can sim - both summer or vinter - it is just 100m from our house!

    Around 2 km from our house is a Waldorf school, where our Filip goes and Vitek works as a teacher. Eli works in a library in the town Säter and is art therapist. We live in an old traditional house from the end of the 18th century. We try to do everything by ourselves and are striving for an alternative, ecological and sustainable lifestyle. We enjoy getting to know new people, sharing and cooperation.

    Together with the kids we enjoy gardening, building and exploring nature. Filip likes reading, playing football, hanging out with his friends and cycling. Now in vinter, we use to play board games and card games, we bake often and enjoy our old house with wood stove and all lights inside.

    At home we speak Czech and Swedish, you can use English or German with us adults. We are a Czech family who moved to Sweden 2010.

    We wish you stay MINIMUM ONE MONTH with our family. When contacting us, please tell us what it is that attracts you to our family in particular. We prefer 20+ age and with some working experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both Eli and Vitek have lived and worked abroad and have rich experiences as volunteers. Also, we enjoy speaking many languages.

    There are many friendly people in the neighbourhood, so you will also meet other locals every day. 10 km from us is a centre for permaculture if you are interested in that (in the village of Stjärnsund). There are many creative people and small companies in the area we live in. There are many activities happening in the area such as dance, singing evenings, courses in permaculture etc.

    Also, there are many other workawayers here so you are not alone here! :-)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for a person who can help us with tree main areas: household jobs (cooking, dishes, cleaning, laundry), playing with children and chickens / outside tasks (wood, shoveling snow..). Now in vinter, you help us with heating too (wood).

    We would like your help maximum 25 hours a week, often divided as 4-5 hours a day 5-6 days a week.

    Mostly, we need help in the afternoon / evening (kitchen and children).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak four languages (Swedish, Czech, English, German) and like to practice!

  • Accommodation


    We offer you a room on the first floor and provide food during your stay. Mostly we eat vegetarian and gluten free food, but occasional we eat meet from local farms. We are open if you are for example vegan or eat anything else!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time, you can go for walks in the nature. You can hang out with other people or join us on a trip to the local town of Hedemora or Säter. Our closest train station is in Hedemora, 20 minutes away - you can go to Uppsala, Stockhom, Falun.

    Eli can borrow some books or puzzle from the library if you wish.

    Buses into the nearest town go only three times a day. Good when you have driving license! If you have a license, you can borrow the car as well. You also might enjoy borrowing a bike and exploring different lakes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets


  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 832749112155

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us to make a rock trail for kids and other projects on our smallholding outside Örsundsbro, Sweden
Help with horse riding and animal care in Tiveden, Sweden