Spanish Native speaker to join our family and help around the house in Toronto

Country

Canada

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (some weekends to Longpoint possible in Summer)

    In Toronto.... summer projects focus on some yard / outdoor tasks, home improvements, cleaning, cooking, language practice.... Minumum 2 week stay requested.

    You will be welcomed into our family of four - youngest is 19. We are well travelled and enjoy meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds. We would love to learn about your culture and hear of your adventures. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️One of our daughters has studied Spanish and would like to practice/improve this so we are looking for a Spanish Native speaker*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️. You must be someone that wants to join us for dinner, outings, conversations “like family” - and also be a non-smoker. Most diets can be accommodated as we have one vegetarian, one nearly vegan, but the rest of us eat meat, fish, etc. There is also one small pet rabbit that we consider part of the family, so it is important that you like being around animals and will also pay her some attention (she is a like a little puppy).

    Two of us here only speak English - so if you want to improve your english you will have that opportunity.
    One of us speaks intermediate French and basic/intermediate Spanish.
    One of us speaks basic Spanish. (Si usted habla español, le pediremos que hable solo en español a dos de nosotros e inglés con los demás - Gracias!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to introduce you to Toronto culture and activities nearby. We are looking for someone that wants to join us in family activities and also outings when there is an opportunity. For example, during some weekends in summer there may also be work (or day off time) at our cottage which is on LONGPOINT (on Lake Erie near port dover/port Rowan) which is a biosphere reserve - with a great beach and birding area. In this case, one of us here will drive you up and back.

  • Help

    Help

    Let us know what skills you bring - For example, can you sew? teach dance or piano? paint? understand outdoor plants? Not everyone is suited to all work, and we will decide with you what tasks are best for you.

    The summer tasks here would include help in the yard/lawn/possibly repairs to deck, some small home improvement tasks such as painting walls or trim and baseboards of hall area, maybe refinishing wood railings or stairs?, sorting attic area, sorting basement, moving some small furniture and organizing around the house. Also, there will also be daily (as well as good weekly) cleaning tasks of bathrooms, kitchen, living areas. And maybe some cleaning tasks outside, for example the car or deck furniture. It would be nice if you enjoy cooking and can provide extra help with this occasionally.

    You may also help take care for the pet rabbit - and this would include cleaning the cage daily.

    You need to have a positive outlook on working and do it with energy and efficiency. You should be able to self manage and keep good track of what needs to be done, making good decisions for prioritizing items as needed. It would be good if you could manage your schedule and keep track of your hours so that you can balance enjoying your travel with the work commitment here.

    As we are working, and going to school, one day of the work hours will be scheduled on the weekend, and a few on one or two weeknights if we need to work with you - - but you can still schedule off two days without work, example Fri&Sat or Sun&Mon or as you like.

    It is for 24 hours of work required for the week - plus one meal that you will please cook for the family per week that will include preparing it and cleaning up afterward (but we will shop for the ingredients and we will pay for them). Any additional cooking that we request for the family will be counted towards working hours. Working hours are intended for working - so please refrain from using your cell phone, eating your breakfast or lunch, or other personal matters during these hours.

    It is also important to us that you enjoying being "part of the family" and this means that you will spend time in conversation with us outside of the working hour commitment as well as at dinner times. You should enjoy the rabbit and want to take her out for petting as she is a big part of our family. We are not a hotel or hostel - but a very welcoming family home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French, basic to intermediate spanish but actively learning it!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private space (see photos) but otherwise shared - evening meals are usually shared with family and some lunches also eaten together. Otherwise, fridge and pantry well stocked so you can prepare what you like. We will do the grocery shopping and provide food while you are in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Toronto, we are within a 5 min walking distance to library (wifi access here), indoor pool, gym, indoor skating rink, cafes (also wifi here) , restaurants, neighbourhood shops.... Also a short walk to the subway with a 20 min ride to downtown.

    Toronto is a diverse multicultural center with almost any kind of activity that you can think of. There are numerous art galleries, museums, theatre venues.... some of which can be quite costly, but there is also many free events throughout the city too.

    Directions to our home:
    Bus Terminal ( at Bay and Dundas) : take underground PATH tunnel to our ttc subway, Dundas Station, on line 1, go Northbound on line 1 to Bloor Station, and transfer to line 2, go westbound on line 2 .... and follow walking directions from subway station that we will provide on confirmation
    (Subway fare is cash $3.25 - if you have exact change you can drop it in the collector box and go straight through to avoid waiting in line to purchase tickets). This trip can be done in under an hour total time.

    From Train Station ( Union ): there is an underground connection to our ttc subway line 1 (union station). You are on line 1 - both trains go northbound to line 2 - transfer at st. George station OR bloor station and go westbound on line 2 ... ( see instructions included with bus terminal directions) This trip can be done in under an hour total time.

    From Pearson airport: there is ttc public transportation service (for only $3.25!) to our house from the airport as follows: take the 900 airport express to Kipling station ( this bus is fast and express making only 2 or 3 stops and runs frequently but I have never taken it) Kipling station is at the end of line 2 on the subway - board ttc train at either side of platform and go eastbound...following instructions we will provide on confirmation. Note that you will need to walk about 5 minutes to our house from the subway station with your luggage. Total time is less than 45 min.
    OR : airport taxi - taxi fare is determined by city zones - we are cheaper than downtown at about $ 35 but it depends on taxi taken, time of day, so do your research - driving time without delays is approximately 15 min directly to our house ( Uber may be more costly from the airport as they have a huge surcharge to pay)

    Happy travelling ....

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24 hours per week plus one dinner cooked for the family per week (working 5 days per week with 2 days off)

Welcome
This space will be for your exclusive use during your stay.... queen size fold out bed
“Entrance” to your sleeping area and private space
View of street from front window of house
Conversation ... en Español
Carlos, Dec 2017 - Jan 2018 *** Thank you for shovelling after the snowstorms ☃️
This is Juno our dwarf rabbit - of course, we call her Jumbo
The back yard - after a snowfall ☃️
At the cottage beach - 2 hours from toronto - but we stay overnight











Host ref number: 818631485856