Help and learn at our solar powered, earth home and sheep farm between the Tisza and the Danube rivers, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We fell in love with this traditional Hungarian farm house, a Tanya. As Swiss this arrea held a special fascination for us in the midst of the Hungarian lowlands between the Tisza and the Danube rivers.
    We created our self-sufficient home according to traditional construction methods using mud bricks, some recycled and some we made ourselves. Over time, sheep, chickens, rabbits, dogs, cats, donkeys and goats. Our two lively girls made our family complete.  This landscape with its vastness, peace, simplicity -is how we want to live...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Livestock care, building your own house, gardening and fruit trees. Great interest in self-sufficiency and Permaculture. Off grid using photo-voltaic ,solar water heater and windmil water pump. Become a member of our family with two teenage girls who speak German - Hungarian - English and very interested in music and drawing. Imaginative and delicious cooking.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with friendly animals (sheep and shepherding, cows, donkeys, cats and dogs), milking and cheese making, building with clay, working in the garden, working with wood and lots more....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Semi-detached own room with heating and wifi, with bedding and bicycle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Szeged a University City with historical bulidings and a big river on the Romanian border. Nearby two spa villages.
    Two hours by train to Budapest. National open Museum with reconstructed old buildings. Traditional Mongol horse riding festival in August. Bus stop 2 km from farm. Donkey riding and horse riding nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 541917886353