Hobby farm in Hope near Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 276 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Six acres on the mighty Fraser River approximately an hour and a half east of Vancouver, B.C. Surrounded by beautiful mountains in a valley that lends itself to hiking, camping and a wonderful laid back life. My furry family is a large hound, shitzu/Sheltie and a mini Pomeranian. We have two horses, 6 pigs, 2 calves. In the fall I do a couple hundred broiler chickens (eating chickens). I try to live as organically as I can but my workload is heavy so cheat all the time. I have a small cabin on property that is great for a single person or travelling friends. Would love to have someone that likes to cook, loves animals and loves to be outside. My home is your home while you are here. I am host that offer room and board.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would learn to speak or improve their English. Learn how a Canadian hobby farm operates. How farm animals are raised organically. They will participate in cooking Canadian dishes with meat and vegetables grown on farm. They will be able to travel and see the tourist sites in our small town.

    During Sept, early Oct. We are open to taking a couple for the chicken rising and harvesting season.
    We will also be building a new egg laying chicken barn durning this time and would love the help.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Mowing, feeding animals, cooking, some minor repairs(fencing, chopping wood, cleaning barn) and having fun.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small cabin with wrap around deck. Equipped with small fridge, microwave, wash basin, storage, wood burning fire place, queen bed and wrap around patio to relax on. Currently under renovation, will be ready for March!

    Main House and common area - 30ft away
    - Washroom and showers
    - Kitchen
    - BBQ
    - Veggie garden (eat as much as you can)
    - Food is provided - Freezer full of organic farm raise beef, pork and chicken.
    Me CASA sue CASA, love some who likes to cook and share meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Epic hiking, whitewater rafting, canoeing and beautiful recreation centre for a small town, Mountain bike park. Small town atmosphere.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 6 acres of space to park. Option #1 - Gravel Pad, perfect for any type vehicle 🚗 Option #2 - Right on the river, stunning views every morning.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 816569954647