We have a plan to set up a more or less self sustainable land in the valley with eco houses- Becsvölgye, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, thank you for reading our profile.

    We are a family, Gyuri (40), Petra (37) and our sons, Csikó (2) and Doboka (born in June). We have been travelling in Europe as workawayers for years, looking for the perfect community to stay, but we could not found it so as lots of others, we have decided to make our own dreams come true first and invite others to join us. We have just bought an almost 10 hectares land, a valley, on the southern western part of Hungary, one hour from the Croatian border and one hour from the lake Balaton. The land is situated in a hilly region in a little village called Becsvölgye. If the weather is good we live in a yurt in the valley and we also have a house in the same village. We have a well elaborated plan to set up a more or less self sustainable land in the valley with eco houses for us and for anybody else who would join us. There is a spring on the land but we do not have electricity there, we plan to set up solar panels (we have electricity in the house).

    In the first year, 2019, we planted some fruit trees, we have set up a yurt and started to build a small eco house.
    Our baby boy has born calmly and nicely without any interventions in the yurt in June. We have some veggies under foil, 2 donkeys and 10 goats, 2 of them gives milk.

    We have some family friends here, we help each other many times, but as Petra is taking care of the kids, Gyuri has to do most of the jobs alone, so we would like to accept more people from all around the world who are interested in learning eco house and mansory stove building and setting up the self-sustaining land. We are not looking for workers but for co-operative, simple, straightforward and independent people who are interested in this peaceful but sometimes hardworking way of living. You can stay as long as you want, for one week or months if you like here.

    Working hours: 4-5 hours daily with days off, depending on your physical condition, type of work. We are definitely not looking for slaves. 😀

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a simple and modest life try to not harm our environment but nurish it while setting up our homes. We are looking for people who think the same way. We are in the process of learning as well so we can learn together.

  • Help

    Help

    !!!UPDATE Nov 2019!!! We need urgent help with the kids and cooking or packing and cleaning cause we are moving to another house by 1st January.

    For later:
    Cutting wood, making a cob oven, renovating and decorating house, gardening (preparing garden for next year, mulching), harvesting and processing mushrooms, animal care, child care, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Hungarian, English, French, Slovakian, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You are welcome to live in the house with us in a separate room and use everything there, the kitchen, the bathroom, the washing machine. However if you would like, we can set up a tent for you in the land (in our climate living in a tent is only comfortable between May and October, depending on the weather).

    Usually we make food together but you can make your own food as well. We mostly eat vegetarian and healthy meals, make our own bread, buy bio veggies and local fruits, homemade milk and eggs, but sometimes we have venison and fish as well. We make cheese and cottage cheese for ourselves. We try to avoid unhealthy processed food. We cannot support very special diets. We have some veggies in the garden.

    We respect your privacy, but our bigger son is very friendly and we have a dog as well, so don't come if you don't like dogs or babies. :) You can either come alone or as a couple or with friends, kids

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Currently no constant wifi but we van always share ours.
    We can supply you with a bicycle and you can visit around. There are buses as well that goes to nearby cities and we can also give you a lift to the nearest city, Zalaegerszeg (20 min). This is a beautiful region with a lot of forests where you can take excursions and collect mushrooms. Zalaegerszeg and Szombathely are the closest cities. In the weekends there are local markets around. The region is also famous of thermal baths so it is a good program to visit one with us or alone. There are more lakes around where you can swim in the summer for free.

    We often make fire and invite friends over for a meal or cooking together. We enjoy playing board/card games, chess or whatever game in the evenings (at least we did before the 2nd baby was born...) Sometimes we practice yoga or Thai yoga massage. You can join anytime. Or you can just relax in a swingbed under the large oak tree. :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

The valley in late autumn
Our travelling companion
The forest in the valley

Host ref number: 812468559276