Adobe building, wild plants and upcycling on a farm near Szarvas, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Csongi and Ágota (36&28), a Hungarian couple from the countryside of Eastern-Hungary.

    Csongi is a chef and furnace-builder, loves felting and fixes things around the household.
    Ágota loves traditional handcrafts, wild edible- and medicinal plants.
    Both of us admire upcycling, creating and playing card games.

    We’d love to host volunteers who have interest or skills in building with natural materials.

    We eat meat, we can provide vegetarian dishes, but cannot support very special diets. We like to eat together.

    Our village is very-very small (~30 people), 8 km from Szarvas, 10 km from Békésszentandrás. Shopping is once a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you:
    - working with clay and adobe;
    - collecting wild edible herbs and mushrooms;
    - making and fixing clothes by hand or machine;
    - basic felting;
    - how to build a stove for yourself; and much more
    - we have some instruments.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in projects depends on the current priorities, your physical strength and abilities, and lot of times on the weather.

    Building and renovating, baking bread, cutting wood for winter, taking care of the animals and veggie garden, yearly maintenance (painting with lime, fixing the walls with clay).
    There’s place for creative ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our life is very simple, nothing fancy.
    We have a goat, a pig, 5 ducks, 10 chicken and a pair of rabbits in our backyard, plus a lovely kitten.

    We have a small guest room in our house for 2, and a sofa in the living room for 2. We can give you blankets, pillows and sleeping bags.

    • Water: tap water is from our well. Rainwater for plants.
    • Toilet: a composting toilet both inside and outside.
    • Electricity: we have it from the system.
    • No WiFi.

    Smoking is allowed outside of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport: there's direct BUS contact from Budapest to Szarvas (3 hours). The TRAIN is a bit shorter in time, but then you have to change from one line to an other.
    We can pick you up at “Szarvas szivattyútelep” bus station, which is 2 km from our house.

    There's the Körös river at 10 minutes walking distance, where you can swim in the summer.

    We have extra bicycles you can use to explore the area.

    In Szarvas (8 km), there is a wild animal park, cafés and shops, and a mini mock-up park of Hungary.
    In Békésszentandrás there is a small brewery.
    Bigger cities in the area: Békéscsaba (55 km), Szolnok (60 km), Kecskemét (75 km), Szeged (85 km)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, they can stay only outside in the garden.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 2 days off, meals provided

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 115128187124