Garden help, some painting underneath the balcony and with housework in Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    I am a writer, an older widow. I have completed a book about Maori rock drawings which is being published nex tyear. I also attend life drawing classes. Family have grown up. I enjoy classical music and concerts. I love gardening but need help with pruning, weeding and landscaping .

    At present there is a bit of painting to do under the balcony in the summertime and some indoor small job painting
    I do go to a farm sometimes it is in a less visited area in South Canterbury.


    Unfortunately here is no room for two people to stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very interested in and well informed about other countries and their cultures. I am always ready to help people improve their spoken and written English. I live in Christchurch near Canterbury University. and am happy to tell people where to go.or take them. I can cater for most Asians being able to cook Thai and Chinese yummy dishes. As a writer I appreciate time to correct my book whilst someone is doing some housework for me. Workawayers would learn about the New Zealand way of life and our food. I also go sometimes to a farm in South Canterbury to help with garden maintenance . The area is not visited by tourists and has bush, native wood pigeons, lots of sheep and a mountain range behind the homestead. Good demanding hill tracks
    I am still recovering from the massacre of local Muslims as I am not particularly racist In fact one cannot be racist in this country as the Maori settled here long before my ancestors arrived looking for a better life. I worked for the Maori Arts Group in the 1990s and loved the experience.

  • Help

    Help

    My garden is quite large and needs weeding. The new balcony underneath needs a paint in summer.I can only take one person thank you.If you can use a de Walt pruning saw and mow lawns or use a hedge trimmer that will be a bonus. But easy to master and safe. As I am quite computer literate I do not need help with photoshop etc. I do need help to finish stretching a large canvas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a bit of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Christchurch a new house with a single bed electric blanket and desk and desk light in an alcove warm and private off large art studio. Handy to large bathroom and separate toilet. Upstairs. Small fridge and microwave to use

    Farm Homestead bedroom with electric blanket ample storage for clothing etc bathroom and toilet handy. I enjoy cooking for other cultures use chopsticks etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am near bus stops into town and numerous shops banks, table tennis. Workaways can buy or sell cars etc here in Christchurch, if leaving to return back to their country. Christchurch earthquake damage still visible. People can visit Akaroa and the Hamner Hot Pools. Skiing in winter . I have had very helpful French volunteers and found their help with some heavier tasks really worthwhile.. Bus transport is just down the road. I appreciate at least 4-5 hours help a day but am flexible if person wishes a day off to visit somewhere.. I prefer some one who is happy to have breakfast at about 8 am , not later. Christchurch has some worthwhile local sights mostly the botanical gardens and our museum.. The town is fine for bicycles. I have three homestays at present who are easy and pleasant.So there is no room until December

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

P Graham







Host ref number: 793489959353