1 / 3

Help welcome in getting land cleared and home clean in TEXAS , USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 127 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Mature medical professional, with great interests being a good steward and growing my community of friends. Have worked with Habitat for Humanity , been a foster parent and have helps small business begin. MY children are grown and on their own, it is time to be the difference I want see in the world. Enjoy exploring and want to help others, Believe we as humans need to seek integrative education and health solutions .

    I have some property in the country I am cleaning and clearing, if you know how to use a chainsaw, like being in the woods and willing to start a fire, Come and help me get it ready for a campground.
    I have being working on it for a year, have had some great helpers and made some great memories....I often need an extra set of hands to get things done and enjoy the relaxing feel of the place. Building a outdoor shower, cleaning paths and hope to have an compost outhouse soon.... still in the beginning stages of a better off-grid infrastructure . Any help appreciated.

    I am trying to downsize and organize my home, and I often need an extra set of hands. Making meals and preparing vegetables and fruit for meal prep. Would like help cleaning and fixing things around the house. I live close to the Trinity Trail in Fort Worth, so easy to ride bikes and hike all over . We have a fairly good bus system and the airport has a direct train to downtown Fort Worth

    Most work options are helping in the country ,yard work, organizing and cleaning. If you know how to sew or have skills with gas equipment is a plus...... I don't have any animals and so like to keep things neat.

    * please be kind, misunderstandings can be reduced with clear expectations. What one person thinks is too much or not enough, is fine with another.... I do not assume. If I don't ask or you think I ask too much, please just say something...not hard, I am not good with bullies....this year started rough, so please be understanding,
    I have been blessed with great visitors , and made lifelong friends with Work away....I hope some day I can be on the other end of this opportunity...

    I can sometimes have more than one , but it is dependent on the situation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Fort Worth is a city of cowboys and culture, we are working at becoming a BLUE Zone destination, I hope to become more efficient at growing food successfully. Lots to see and do around this area, of TEXAS a few stereotypes of what Texas is will be broken,

    To be out in the country and learn about starting a fire, clearing land and just see different part of Texas ....we are piney woods, hilly and desert all in the same state.

  • Help


    I am trying to downsize and organize my home, and I often need an extra set of hands. Making meals and preparing vegetables and fruit for meal prep. Cleaning garage and shed. Would like help cleaning and fixing things around the house, in the country and cleaning my yard.

    I am wanting help on my country hideaway , starting to make it more off the grid friendly. I hope to grow both food and herbs out there. I have a pond but no fishing. ...yet. I am working cleaning and clearing raw land and have some building plans for off grid living. It is a process.....

    I enjoy working in the yard but realize I am starting to need help ,would enjoy the company and learning from others.
    I have a need for organizing and downsizing , need someone who knows how to do excel and office organizing . I still work so it would be paramount to be trustworthy, I have made dear friends who are like family once my guest, and also had one who was quite mean and had to ask them kindly to leave. Please, workaway can be an amazingly fun experience. and I feel blessed to be part of it.

    I have a need to clean and clear in the country property, and often I need an extra set of hands to get things done.
    I look forward to learning more about my guests and allowing them to try new things while we figure out activities to complete the goals. It is in East Texas, very different form Fort Worth....but lovely. and lots of trees

    Please no smoking ....seeing people smoke just breaks my heart, know what the health consequences will be ... lost some very dear people, far too young because of this habit.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I have a bedroom and private half bath with use of the main bath. shower. Many places are close for shopping and there is a bike trail throughout Fort Worth to explore without sharing the road with cars.

    I do not buy meat, so if you are only meat and bread only, not vegetable eater...be prepared to buy your own.... this has not be a problem. most folks have been more than willing to buy and prepare their favorites but I need to put it out there.... I think culture exchange, means try new foods and be open to things......

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fort worth has a cowboy culture , many museums and parks. There is bus service about a mile walk . Day passed available and train to Dallas and from DFW airport . Pretty easy to get around . I work so I am not usually available for transportation for sightseeing . However the bus system goes near my work so if you decide to meet there , I can drive you to the house .
    I can connect you with materials and places that I suggest do not miss....and if I can I will go with you......

    My property is in the piney woods of Texas, very different from Fort Worth...but beautiful and nice to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I do have some property that a small camper, VAN or RV can stay on, has city water service but not electric at this time.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 268846468897

Feedback (14)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help on a permaculture inspired farm located in New York State, USA
Join our eco-friendly, educational community near the small town of Bisbee, Arizona, USA