Help on a small farm near Aljezur and the beach, an outdoor sports and nature lovers paradise, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 667 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    523

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I'm Nathaniel. My girlfriend Diana and I live on this little farm which has a very lucky location, with breath taking views to the highest Algarvian mountains, close to the beautiful beach of Amoreira and river but also close to the historic town of Aljezur.

    This this project started only a couple of years ago and we are still in the process of shaping the land and creating a dream self sufficiency vegetable garden, fruiting forest and eco rental accommodation. The goal here is to try to restore the soil quality and create a diverse ecosystem that will provide food most of the year. We are passionate about nature, both in helping it and enjoying it.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're no experts but always aim to share the knowledge and experience we have acquired. We have knowledge of the Western Algarve and some of the beautiful things it has to offer.

    I can teach English, a little Portuguese and Spanish and more fun skills like surfing, Skating (longboards) and Aikido (self defence) when I have spare energy.

  • Help

    Help

    The chores here are varied. There is plenty of help needed around the house, the tourist rental caravan, the vegetable gardens and with the trees but also, construction and landscaping.

    Tasks could include:-
    -Weeding and clearing land
    -Chopping and gathering firewood
    -Mulching leaves/branches in the machine.
    -Cooking and cleaning.
    -Planting/harvesting vegetables and baby trees.
    -Assisting with carpentry projects
    -Painting and decorating
    -Landscaping
    -Building traditional stone walls


    We are always interested in people with skills in organisation, building, gardening, carpentry, engineering and agriculture. Even if you feel that you don't necessarily excel in the above skills but are a very practical responsible person, you can be of great help.

    Our usual work routine is from Monday to Friday. We meet at 08:50 for a quick chat and start at 09:00 until 11:30 (Winter months we may start a bit later and in hot summer months sometimes a bit earlier). To maintain a hygienic and pleasant space for everyone you're expected to clean after yourself and take turns emptying the compost toilet etc. There is also a deeper group clean after work on Mondays.

    On site we try to eat a healthy mostly a plant based diet from food grown either on site or by other local farmers. If working 12.5 hours you will usually need to buy and prepare your own food.

    Sometimes we have a filling communal lunch together for 2.50€. We have resources for someone who loves cooking to prepare the meal (and clean after). In exchange that person can finish land work 30 minutes early and doesn't pay for lunch. We provide all the ingredients and the use of the house kitchen + many herbs & spices.

    Please be aware that there is no smoking allowed on the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, Spanish and a few words of many other languages. :))

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will endeavour to make peoples stay as pleasant as possible with an efficient solar powered hot shower, clean and tidy compost toilet, a dedicated 6mx3m kitchen/lounge in the woods, all gas, water, electric and internet is provided and there's a tranquil environment to relax in after work.

    You will need a sleeping bag/pillow, good strong working boots, BIODEGRADABLE SHAMPOO/SOAPS, clothes you don't mind being dirty or breaking and maybe a torch for finding the toilet in the night. Between October and April you may need a rain coat just in case. No shoes to be worn inside and SHOES SHOULD NOT BE LEFT OUTSIDE because a dog keeps stealing them. :)

    Accommodation is in our woodland with a shared kitchen/lounge hut and could vary from a bed in the shared volunteer caravan, a small personal caravan or one of a few tents.

    We provide some bicycles for our volunteers (to be kept clean and stored at night) and we sometimes take people on trips for fun activities or to explore local beaches and markets if people feel like joining us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the heart of the Vicentina national park. The town of Aljezur is only 15 minutes by bicycle (30 walking) and the beach around 20 minutes.

    The old town of Aljezur and castle are magnificent and there are many little cafes.

    Volunteers will be welcome to join on trips to Lagos where they can enjoy the sites of a small city with an ancient medina centre or other places if the opportunity arises

    In your time off, if your budget allows, we can help you arrange other activities like horse riding, paddle boarding excursions, yoga classes etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12.5 hours per week, no food provided.

The morning sun rising over the misty valleys.
The beautiful local beach Amoreira is only about 20 minutes away by bicycle.
One of our volunteers who returns several times a year.
Hi I'm Nathaniel, your host.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





































Host ref number: 619141422718

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host