Come join us over summer, and help with some maintenance of our holiday home and enjoy lovely nature in Ostra Amtervik, Sweden



Favourited 78 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    For 2021 we don't need help.

    In 2022 we can use help during 1 week somewhere between mid July and the beginning of August. At this moment we don't know exactly which period. If you want, you can already let us know that you are interested. We will send you an update if there is news. We can have up to 5 helpers at the same time.

    We are a couple of 50+ years old. We love to meet new people and have a nice time together. The mentioned period is our holiday. We live and work in the Netherlands. Besides working around the house, we like to enjoy life and enjoy this holiday. We want you to have a great time too.

    Iriah has Lyme disease and is therefore often tired. Hendry also has some physical problems. This is why help is very welcome, besides the fun of having people around. We will of course work around the house ourselves too.

    We appreciate peace and quiteness and meaningful conversations. Because of the illness of Iriah she gets very quickly tired when people or conversations are busy all the time. So unfortunately helpers who have for instance ADHD or who are very busy are not suitable. In that case please don't apply.

    I, Iriah work as a psychomotor therapist in a mental hospital. I give, among others, relaxation therapy, respiratory therapy and mindfulness. Providing security and trust is essential for me in my work and I am good at creating an atmosphere where everyone is accepted as they are. I believe in the power, potential and wisdom that every human possesses.
    I do enjoy working in the garden and tinkering. For a part I make my own clothes.

    I, Hendry, am currently working as a teacher and coach at a university college in the area of Applied Psychology. I have many years of experience in helping people within the field of education and research. I enjoy seeing people developing themselves. For me, every human being is beautiful and unique. You too :-)
    I like to develop myself , play the didgeridoo and to make things with my own hands.

    Together we have, besides our jobs, our own course and training center. We love to do this. In the near future we will move from the south of the Netherlands to the north of the country. We want to renovate an old farm and make it suitable for courses and training as well as a bed and breakfast.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The idea is that you are helping us 5 hours per day painting and renovating the house and doing other things. One of the things that we want to do this year, besides painting and cut down some trees, is to renovate the little wooden building where the wood for the fire is stored. The underpart is rotten, because it is standing directly on the wet soil. We want to put it on some stones, like all store buildings in Sweden. And the upper part of the garage, which is mainly decoration, is also rotten. So we hope that one of the 5 helpers we are looking for, is a carpenter or has experience with renovation.

    The rest of the time you can relax, lie in the hammock, explore the environment, walk in the woods, pick mushrooms and berries, swim in the lake, go on a trip in our canoe etc. In the evening we can make a camp fire. If you like, we can do things together.
    We will supply your bed and meals. We invited people the last years too and we really enjoyed working together with other people. So we are looking forward to meet new people again.

    The house has been from Iriah's parents. During many years they lived half a year in Sweden and half a year in the Netherlands. Now they are in their 80s and feel too old to go to Sweden for more than a few weeks. There has been little maintenance done for a few years at the house and we are now refurbishing. It is a wooden house, like most houses in Sweden.

    We also want to cut down some trees in the forest behind the house en the pile of branches need to be cleaned away.

    In the future we will also need help in the north of the Netherlands. We are going to build a course and education center with a biological and partly permaculture garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You can sleep in the house (we have two 2-person beds and also several 1-person mattresses) or, if you prefer, in a tent. The house is located south of Sunne near a small village. We have our own water well. There is a forest on our terrain. The trees grow faster than we can cut down. If you like, you can also help us bring down some trees. It's lovely to sit on the porch. From the porch you can see the lake through the trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sweden has a continental climate and the province of Värmland, where our house is located, is situated behind the mountain ridge of Norway, so it usually is hot and dry in the summer.

    Please note:
    - The lyme doctor has told Iriah that she should be more careful in getting infections. Lyme suppresses the immune system. Therefore, if you are ill, have a cold or have to cough a lot (even without a cold) before arriving, we ask you to wait a few days before visiting us.
    - Because Iriah is often very tired she can't handle people who are too active, are hyperactive or have ADHD.So we like to have people in the range normal active - quiet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 947858331456