Share our lifestyle on the surf coast, help around the house and garden near Torquay, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 317 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Wanted from mid April 2020: Currently we are looking for help from longer term travellers who can stay 2-3months. We would love to find the right person or couple of people who have some building skills, happy to chop wood for winter, manage a chain saw, weed cutter, and other tools. Maintenance and working in our gardens is always ongoing as well. Mature and self motivated persons aged 25+

    Contact us if you’re interested and we can chat more about what we are looking for.

    We are a couple with grown up kids and we have 8 acres in the beautiful Spring Creek Valley just outside of the famous surfing town of Torquay in Victoria, on the Surf Coast. Torquay is known as the gateway to The Great Ocean Road. Amazing beaches including the famous Bells beach are 5 minutes drive away. Lovely places to walk and explore, swim and surf. We both work part time and like to live a relaxed lifestyle with a bunch of chickens, our garden, and plenty of time for playing our Ukuleles and generally getting involved in all sorts of local music making and other community stuff.

    Our workawayers have helped us so many things around our property. We love having people stay who are self motivated and can use their initiative and creativity to problem solve. What you do here with us is often remembered as 'your project'!

    At the moment gardening and property management is one of our biggest needs, and gardeners, horticulturalists, those interested in permaculture, water management, or landscaping are always welcome, as our gardens are more than two of us can handle!

    Handyman or trade skills are always needed or creative folk who like to create beauty or art. We love people who can reuse materials and recycle to create something useful.

    Our property is tucked away on a quiet dirt road, surrounded by hills. It is about 8 km to Torquay, and 11km to Anglesea. Geelong is our nearest regional city about 20km away. We can provide you with bikes to check out the area, and we are happy to show you around too, drive you to the beach etc..

    A bus passes nearby a couple of times a day which travels between, Geelong, Torquay, down to Lorne, and other great locations down the Great Ocean Rd.

    You'd be staying in a converted caravan with a cabin built around it with a big sunny room, great views and a cozy heater to keep you warm on chilly nights. Shared bathroom and toilet with us. Shared meals are a great time to chat and share experiences.

    We have travelled to Asia and Europe and loved staying with local hosts. Its a great way to meet some really lovely people, plus find out more about the country you are visiting and what its really like living there. We think its pretty fantastic living here and would love to share it with travelers keen to do the same.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Its a great lifestyle living on the coast and we have a great community here too. We are involved in a band and play at local festivals and community events. We facilitate a local Ukulele group too.

    We love to chat to people and learn more about you and your world and hopefully we can also share with you a bit about ours. There are always local events to attend and our beautiful natural environment we can share with you.

    We are also really into re-purposing and recycling, and our home is all about reusing someone's favourite old couch found at a garage sale, creating a warm comfy eclectic place to be in. We also like fiddling around with anything creative, such as limestone carving or creating Garden sculpture from recycled bits. Sitting around the fire and playing a few tunes under a starry sky is also very likely!

  • Help

    Help

    Wanted from mid April 2020: Currently we are looking for help from longer term travellers who can stay 2-3months. We would love to find the right person or couple of people who have some building skills, happy to chop wood for winter, manage a chain saw, weed cutter, and other tools. Maintenance and working in our gardens is always ongoing as well. Mature and self motivated persons aged 25+

    Contact us if you’re interested and we can chat more about what we are looking for.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a great space which is separate to the house which is a large converted caravan with double bed plus two extra single bed options. The van has been built onto, with a enclosed sun room area with big windows and warm heaters. Shared bathroom and toilet with us in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Self contained living 15-20hrs per person

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)































Host ref number: 791535557642