Help always wanted on stunning polo/eventing/cattle farm in The Grampians, Victoria.

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 458 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband (Australian) and I (British) live on this stunning and busy cattle station alongside a horse polo/Eventing business! I manage the polo business, work in a winery and also help on the farm when I have time. My husband is incredibly busy on his Charolais Cattle stud with some crops and sheep too. We have recently renovated a cottage which is our new home which we love but now have the task of constructing the garden and veggie patch. We have 4 very friendly dogs, 3 of which are 'house' dogs and very much part of the furniture. There are 8,000 acres here in a really special and peaceful spot. Many damns which have yabbies in, chooks and plenty of Aussie wildlife. We are only 10 mins to the nearest small town, 25 minutes to a large town, 2.5 hours to Melbourne with a train line and 1.15 hour to the stunning beach! We also have The Grampians National Park right on our door step which is a beautiful part of the world; fabulous for walking, rock climbing, sunset watching, wine tasting, canoeing, the list really is endless!

    We have a gorgeous 2 year old baby with another on the way, so we are always looking for helpers who are kind, caring and have child care experience and dont mind helping with cooking, cleaning and in the garden.

    Having lots of cattle and sheep, always lots of help required on the farm with fencing, feeding out etc

    Cooking - we Wld really love u to share your cooking dishes with us! So chefs and those with a love of cooking, are very welcome! 😀

    Horses - we have lots of horses (polo and Eventing) so experienced riders are always welcomed. Those that can properly school and jump young horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see how a real Australian cattle stud and country polo business is run and the benefits of living in such a gorgeous part of the country. You shall get a lot of satisfaction here particularly from the physically demanding tasks and those that involve our animals. We are also in a wonderful location to travel around and the Great Ocean Road is only an hour away, so when you are not helping, it would be a great base to travel and explore more.

  • Help

    Help

    There's a wide range of chores that need to be done, we try to suit exercises to your liking where possible but it all depends on what's happening at that time, we really like having a good atmosphere where everybody is pleased about all conditions, so a very good, happy go lucky attitude is an absolute must :-)

    A few suggestions:

    Farmwork

    - With our 2 year old beautiful baby boy, things are even more busy so any help with him and chores in the home are very much appreciated. Kind and caring people are very much welcomed to enjoy our gorgeous baby bundle. Another on the way!

    - Cooking - we LOVE to eat so any helpers which LOVE to cook and eat are a bonus!

    - Gardening - We are trying to put together our new cottage garden so for those of you who are green fingered, this would suit u.

    - We are both so busy so there is always house cleaning

    - We have quite a number of horses so horse jobs are also on the list. Genuinely Good riders always required. Polo ponies and eventers. Plus our pet calf and minnie goat who always love attention!

    - Paddock and fencing maintenance is ongoing, but with the location here, its always makes the job more enjoyable.

    And of course there are lots of random chores around the place, plenty of things to keep you more then busy in this beautiful spot!

    My husband speaks fluent Spanish also :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer you your own (may share with one or two others) cosy three bed room cottage in a stunning part of the property overlooking the polo field and the mountains. The sunsets here are unforgettable! The cottage is cosy but dated but has everything you need and is a stones throw from where we live with its own enclosed garden and patio area. Bathroom with good shower, kitchen and living area with an open fire for those chilly nights and three private bedrooms. So you will need to be good at keeping fires burning, plenty of wood supplied.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Great Ocean Road is only about an hour away, Halls Gap is 40 minutes away and right in the heart of the Grampians National Park. There is a train to Melbourne from Ararat which is only 25 minutes away. Port Fairy and Warrnambool are both within the hour and great beachside towns. The Pyrenees and the Grampians are both great area to visit for wine tasting.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week










Host ref number: 422598353921