Need a bit of help with our historic home near Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 283 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is is warm and welcoming century home that has become a touchstone for many who have visited over the years. I am a 58 year old holistic realtor with part ownership in a farm to table business. Benedicte is my 26 year old daughter, currently living in Berlin, moving to Aix en Provence in August. Daniel is travelling the world as a digital nomad and Ben is about to settle down in a house nearby. We are located in Chateauguay, a small community south of Montreal, only a few minutes walk from a bus to the Angrignon métro. The atmosphere is relaxed and easygoing, this is a great place to step back, breathe deeply and disconnect from the craziness. Welcome to digital nomads, chefs, handy types, musicians and gardeners. Next help I am looking for will be for prepping the house and gardens for fall and winter and reorganizing my storage sheds and basement, so strong arms a plus. There is always cleaning and weeding, but it is generally a good, laid back gig. I have heard the average is 5 hours per day for most gigs, I dont really look at hours per day, I am more like get more work done on some days and take other full days to go downtown and explore the city.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life does not have to be about what others tell you is 'success'.. we believe that 'success' means looking within, finding your sweet spots and intentionally creating a life in accordance with your values and beliefs. Here you will have a chance to discuss your beliefs and aspirations, maybe set some goals, see what freedom and open mindedness look like. 2 of my kids have done great workaways, we want to contribute to the community.

  • Help

    Help

    Historic riverfront home, located not too far from downtown Montreal and accessible by public transit, needs a few more hours than what I can spare at the moment. Some renovations happening at my son's house a few blocks away as well.

    The gig is chill, in this house we like to talk about life, goals directions and experiences over a few glasses of wine and a lot of laughter. Once the bigger jobs are done (spring and fall clean up, gardening) aside from helping keep this huge house clean and helping to cook dinners so I can focus on other responsibilities, I don't need a ton of hours, just some blitzes now and then in a few different areas. NB I have found that 1-2 week stays are the best on our end.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One king bedroom just above the boutique, private bathroom . Front deck that faces the river and the sunrise. We have parking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Montreal? Anything and everything!! The bus to the metro (subway ) line is about a 5 minute walk, and you can get downtown in about 70 minutes, much less if you have a car. Montreal is a world class city, several universities, affordable eats, lots of young people and a thriving indie music and arts scene.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    5g wireless, fast enough, ping is 64, download 47.13 and up is 10.7

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    flexible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 20 hours per week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.6)



















Host ref number: 778837122996