Help with some outdoor/DIY projects on an eco off-grid homestead in Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located in Bancroft, Ontario, on the Canadian Shield amongst the spruces, lakes and beaver ponds, we have started to cultivate a project on our 65-acre plot of land. We are still in very early stages of setting up our homestead so this is a great learning opportunity for people who would like to know the reality of setting up an alternative lifestyle from the very beginning! For now our main focus is getting our family set up to live comfortably year round.

    The tasks are plentiful as we set things up on our property, between setting up and maintaining a summer garden, a perennial food forest, building various out buildings as well as our alternative, ecological home -we have our work cut out for ourselves!

    Our family consists of myself - Sophia, born and raised in Canada but I've lived abroad in Holland and the UK for 5 years, where I met my husband Andres. Andres is from Venezuela but also lived in the UK for 10 years and Greece occasionally. We love Europe and all our traveling experiences but we also love our new Canadian homesteading life. We miss our cultural learning opportunities abroad but look forward to inviting others onto our homestead to offer the experience of authentic Canadian living. To share the cultural exchange opportunity between you and ourselves and now our two loving daughters - Lucia 6 years old and Jacqueline 3 years old. We fantasize about them learning other languages and about other cultures with the new and interesting people that come and stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're seeking an authentic Canadian experience then this is the perfect location for you. We are in the heart of what is known as Canadian cottage country. We are surrounded by lakes, the stunning York river, and plenty of forests. Our property has a mature maple bush standing where we've tapped and processed our own maple syrup. We have a beautiful hiking trail bordering our property. Plenty of wildlife on and around our property. After nearly 8 years of owning our property we have become very familiar with the surrounding area and could inform our 'workstayer' where to go to enjoy more natural, outdoor life and the local culture. There is also the famous Algonquin Park just 40 min drive from us. We also have a canoe which you would be welcome to use at the lake nearby or river. As a Canadian, I am familiar with the local and national knowledge and culture. But you'd be getting a more worldly experience at our place as my husband is from Venezuela, a native Spanish speaker and we both have plenty of experience living and traveling abroad. We love to hear about and share our own cultural experiences. We all know there is no chance of being able to visit every single corner of this precious planet but at least we can share our own stories about our own experiences and invite others on our journeys whilst sitting around a campfire enjoying time together on spring, summer or autumn evenings :)

  • Help

    Help

    There are a number of things we are working on. During your stay with us you will be helping on one or a combination of the following tasks.

    Building tasks include: completing a small scale roundhouse structure, finish building an outhouse, and a tiny house for accommodations
    Gardening tasks include: organizing and caring for our growing collection of perennials into a forest garden as well as some annual gardening
    Landscaping tasks include: transplanting trees to make natural fences/barriers/hedges, carving out trails, paths and driveways through the property for hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, and general access
    Other always on-going homesteading tasks include: preserving our harvest, harvesting firewood, and maintaining tools, equipment and structures which includes organizing, cleaning, sanding, grinding, painting, and oiling.
    Other creative tasks include: making signs for our property and other decorative features, basketry and ornamental weaving from our own harvested wild materials (we are not experts at this yet but would love to learn from someone or learn together!), and other wild crafting such as harvesting plentiful wildflowers for medicinal and cosmetic uses.

    NOTE: tasks on the homestead vary and can sometimes turn out to be mundane and/or repetitive but that is the nature of this lifestyle.

    Also, please be advised that some of the work requires physical effort and some degree of strength (ie. Splitting and stacking firewood, moving stones for garden walls, shoveling manure etc) That doesn't have to mean to need to be in top shape - in fact, we'd love people to use this work exchange experience as an opportunity to Kickstart a great personal health care routine! We simply tell you this in advance to avoid any surprises when you arrive. By all means, we encourage you to work at a safe steady pace.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    My husband and I speak english fluently with our daughters. My husband speaks fluent Spanish but I would like to learn more Spanish and teach it to my girls.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As mentioned, we are still in very early stages of setting ourselves up on our property. There was NOTHING when we arrived. We stay in a non-winterized trailer at the moment. We have outhouses, an outdoor shower, and our own dug well where we hand pump water and filter it through a basic (but effective!) filtration system. We have a mini-solar system where you could charge a phone, laptop, basic things like that.

    Accommodation options are as follows:
    1) You can pitch your own tent here.
    2) We can provide a tent and bedding for you if you do not have your own and don't mind using ours.
    3) We are in the process of acquiring a camper/trailer, so that will be available to you soon hopefully!
    4) You could park your own trailer/mobile tiny house at our place.

    All meals are included.

    If the accommodation is an issue for you but you are interested in staying here and we find you feel like you would be a great fit then please get in touch anyway. We can try our best to work out an arrangement with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's plenty to do for recreation. Hiking on the trail that borders our property, swimming at a selection of lakes in the area, fishing, cycling and you'd be welcome to borrow our canoe if interested. The landscape at our place varies between mixed wood forest, an old pine plantation and cleared fields full of wildflowers, so you may just want to spend your time on the land exploring and relaxing.

    NOTE- We can accept couples and/or small families only if all the work requested and outlined here can be accurately fulfilled.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space for you to park your camper/trailer here at our place.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only gentle animals welcome as we have two girls. We also have a dog so they would have to be able to get along too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 247562125547