Experience Kiwi culture in our family home in a tranquil valley in the North of New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    367

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are seeking help at our property which is set in a tranquil valley in the North of New Zealand.

    We are a young family of 3 who has ventured into owning our own property. We have only lived here a few months so there is a lot of outdoor work such as clearing, maintenance and tidying to do and there are projects we want to get started. Indoor help is also needed. My husband is a chef, I am a part time teacher and we have a 6 month old baby, so life is busy and need extra hands to help!

    We have 5 acres of beautiful native bush, numerous fruit trees and crops which need to be planted and trees pruned. We are trying to establish new vegetable gardens and create a property that is self-sufficient. We have pet chickens and a goat. We'd like to get the property ready to own some pigs, and eventually cattle so there is building and fencing to be done. If you're outgoing, have initiative and are willing to try new things, and share your skills then please contact us.

    We can take 1 person or a couple, around a weeks stay is fine.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We go fishing/diving/beach exploring on our free time and you're welcome to join us. My husband is Maori and we try to use te reo maori in the household as much as possible. Visitors can expect typical Kiwi culture,

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks would include: household cleaning, weeding gardens, lawn-mowing, spraying, farm chores like collecting firewood and clearing land from noxious weeds. We will be planting crops,mulching,composting,pruning,general tidying,wood chopping. We may need help with building projects so any carpentry skills would be very useful as well as tree work skills and chainsaw experience.

    Tasks can be done in the morning or afternoon so you can choose how you want to spend the day. Inside the house there is help needed with cleaning and meal preparation. Also childminding from time to time.

    There is no public transport available from our property so having your own vehicle would be ideal.

    Please bring wet weather gear, outdoor shoes and sunblock so all weather conditions are covered.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a large private bedroom with a Queen bed, drawers and a wardrobe. Bathroom and kitchen are shared spaces. We have a living room and two conservatories which are nice and sunny to relax in. The house is an old country villa and very warm and dry. We have two fireplaces and even a hot outdoor shower which is amazing to shower amongst the trees and birds!

    Breakfast is toast, fruits, cereal and yoghurt. Lunch, sandwiches/salad or dinner leftovers. Dinner is typically meat and vegetables, but we eat a lot of vegetarian food too. Visitors are encouraged to join in with cooking or cook a meal. Washing and drying of the dishes after dinner is appreciated. If you'd like specific ingredients for a particular meal you'd like to cook, let me know! We love new and interesting foods!

    If you have specific dietary requirements please let us know in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 13 kilometers from Kaitaia and have amazing beaches on both the west and east coast, about 25 minutes by car, so surfing, fishing or just relaxing at the beach are close by. There are nice bush walks close by and a trip to Cape Reinga is a worthwhile visit on your day off
    Tourist attractions are easily reached and visitors can plan on visiting attractions in the Bay of Islands (east coast, approx 1 hour away) and Hokianga (west coast) as well as travelling to the northern most point in NZ- Cape Reinga.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 776168369741